Peterborough Speedway

Jordan Howse Uses Bump-and-Run to Scores Autumn Colours Classic Thunder Car 50 Victory


It’s the move everyone has talked about since Sunday afternoon at Peterborough Speedway as Jordan Howse used a bump-and-run in the final laps to score the victory in the Autumn Colours Classic Thunder Car 50.

Jason Praysner won the first heat ahead of Herb Walters, Stefan Semeraro, Kenny McNicol Jr., Jordan Latimer, James Townsend, Jade Franklin, Brad Collison, Anthony DiBello and Petrue.

The second heat saw a minor scary moment when Tyler Liscum had a throttle stick, sending him flying off of the turn one exit; he was okay. Brandon Passer then jumped the restart, resulting in officials moving him back to third for the next attempt. Passer still picked up the win ahead of Treyten Lapcevich, Ken Grubb, Darryl Fice, Kevin Gallant, Howie Crowe, Dan Archibald and Luke Gignac.

The third heat saw a caution on Lap 1 as a result of Miles Tyson spinning off of turn two. Under caution, Matt Bentley made his way down pit road. Joe Adams picked up the win ahead of Jordan Howse, Adam Misener, Shawn Arnott, Tyson, Alvin McNicol and Ethan Constable.

Nick Roth won the fourth heat ahead of Jeremy Broom, Brandon McFerran, Coltin Everingham, Hudson Nagy, the 03 and the 00.

Anthony DiBello won the fifth heat ahead of Latimer, Townsend, Walters, Praysner, McNicol Jr., Jade Franklin, Semeraro, and Collison.

Gallant ran into issues before the start of the sixth heat, making his way into the pits. Ken Grubb picked up the win ahead of Lapcevich, Crowe, Passer, Gallant and Archibald.

Matt Bentley won the seventh heat ahead of Howse, Arnott, Tyson, Adams, Misener, Constable and Alvin McNicol.

The final heat saw a caution on Lap 3 as a result of Broom and the 03 getting tangled up together after battling three-wide with Roth. Hudson Nagy picked up the win ahead of McFerran, Everingham, Semple, Roth, Broom, the 03 and Tom Petrue.

Photo Credit: Ashley McCubbin

Photo Credit: Ashley McCubbin

The b-main went messy right off the start as Alvin McNicol, Franklin and the 31 went three-wide off the drop of the green flag, resulting in the 31 spinning. Franklin was forced to head pit side due to a flat tire. The restart saw a second caution as a result of Constable spinning Gallant. With no laps complete, Franklin was able to return following his tire change and remain on the lead lap. Franklin took the lead on Lap 11 and went on to pick up the win ahead of Semeraro, McNicol, Gallant and the 31.

Come feature time, Matt Bentley took the early lead behind the wheel of the No. 21  GL Manufacturing, ThringCo., Streamline Race Products, Creative Edge and Bentley Motorsports Super Stock. Dan Archibald ran second ahead of Jordan Howse, Treyten Lapcevich, Jason Praysner and Nick Roth. Joe Adams then got alongside Roth on Lap 3 for sixth, but was unable to complete the pass. Behind them, Ryan Semple ran eighth ahead of Brandon McFerran, Herb Walters and Hudson Nagy. The first caution then flew on Lap 5 for an incident involving Tyler Liscum, Ethan Constable and Brad Collison.

The restart resulted in the second caution of the race as Lapcevich got spun by Praysner, resulting in heavy contact with the frontstretch wall. As a result, Lapcevich was done for the afternoon. Archibald then pulled down pit road under caution, done for the afternoon as a result of a mechanical issue.

The second attempt at a restart went cleanly with Bentley continuing to lead, though now ahead of Howse, Roth, Semple, Adams and McFerran. Walters ran seventh ahead of Coltin Everingham, Brandon Passer and Miles Tyson. Nagy continued to run 11th, followed by James Townsend, Jade Franklin and Jordan Latimer. Tyson continued his climb forward, getting alongside Passer for ninth at Lap 11, completing the pass a lap later and bringing Nagy, Townsend and Franklin through with him.

Franklin also continued his climb forward, passing Townsend for 11th on Lap 13, with Passer and Latimer following suit over the next two laps. Anthony DiBello then passed Townsend for 14th on Lap 16, while Liscum ran 16th behind them. Tyson then passed Everingham for eighth on Lap 17, with Nagy continuing to run ninth ahead of Franklin, Passer, DiBello, Townsend and Latimer.

At the front of the field, Bentley continued to lead ahead of Howse, Roth and Semple. Semple then passed Roth for third on Lap 23, with McFerran side-by-side with Adams for fifth. McFerran got the spot on Lap 24, bringing Tyson through with him. Adams now ran seventh ahead of Walters, Franklin and Nagy as Everingham ran side-by-side with Passer.

The third caution then flew on Lap 27 for Semeraro and Kenny McNicol Jr. getting together, collecting Praysner in the process on the frontstretch. The first attempt at a restart resulted in the fourth caution as Adams tagged Roth, while Alvin McNicol took out Semeraro, collecting Passer in the process.

The second attempt went cleanly with Bentley leading ahead of Howse, Semple, Tyson, Adams, Walters, McFerran and Constable. McFerran then got by Walters for sixth on Lap 38 as Constable continued to run eighth. Constable’s solid run came to an end a lap later as he headed down pit road with a problem. It’d be Franklin moving into the eighth spot after he was able to clear Everingham on Lap 42.

Latimer then got alongside Everingham for ninth, competing the pass on Lap 42. Everingham didn’t give up, though, getting back alongside Latimer on Lap 44, passing him back a lap later and bringing Liscum through with him. James Townsend was then able to get by Latimer for 11th on Lap 46, bringing Roth and DiBello through with him.

At the front of the field, things got interesting as the leaders got closer and closer to the end of the event. With two laps to go, Howse made his move, putting the bumper to Bentley. The result was Bentley sliding up the track, allowing Howse to slip by for the lead.

Jordan Howse then led the rest of the way behind the wheel of the No. 8 MacMaster Buick GMC of Orangeville, Stewart’s Equipment, Kubota, Glenn Windrem Trucking, Paul Howse and Associates, Foodland of Hillsburgh, John Teune Engines,, Dutchboy Carpet Cleaning, Specialized Welding, LaRue’s Haulage and Georgia Beck Brooms Super Stock en route to scoring the victory in the Autumn Colours Classic Thunder Car 50.

Matt Bentley crossed the finish line in second, though was DQ’d post-race for bumping Howse on the cool down lap. As a result, it’d be Ryan Semple getting second ahead of Miles Tyson, Joe Adams and Brandon McFerran. Herb Walters got sixth, followed by Jade Franklin, Coltin Everingham, Tyler Liscum and James Townsend. Nick Roth finished 11th, followed by Anthony DiBello, Jordan Latimer and Brandon Passer.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.