mini stocks

Brandon McFerran Returns to Victory Lane at Sunset Speedway


For the first time since mid-June, the division’s defending series champion would grace victory lane as Brandon McFerran scored the feature victory in the Graham Landscape Limited Mini Stock feature at Sunset Speedway. McFerran becomes the division’s fourth straight different feature winner with his third victory of the season.

Doug Butler won the first heat ahead of Jordan Howse, Nic Montanari, Eric Yorke, Danny Benedict, Justin Holmes, Brendan Adams, Bob Phinnemore and Richard Butler.

The second heat would see Terry Woodley blackflagged at lap two for a loose gas cap, and Toon would pull off at lap five after contact. On the last lap, the caution would fly for Jake Watson spinning Kendra Adams. Andy Kamrath picked up the win ahead of Warren Paxton, Gerritt Tiemersma, Brandon Crumbie, Miles Tyson, Samantha Shaw, Steve Belanger, Adams and Watson.

The b-main would see Kendra Adams go up in smoke on lap nine as a result of a broken exhaust pipe causing some electrical wires to burn off, resulting in heavy smoke in the car.

On the restart, Tolton would make contact with Brendan Adams, causing him to spin, leaving Toon with nowhere to go but into the Adams’ mustang. Watson also caught a piece, sliding sideways off of turn four, barely keeping the car off of the outside wall. Justin Holmes picked up the win ahead of Watson, Tolton, Phinnemore, Woodley and Belanger.

Come feature time, Brandon McFerran would start on pole ahead of Samantha Shaw, Brandon Crumbie, Doug Butler, Gerritt Tiemersma, Nic Montanari, Bobby Tolton, Andy Kamrath, Jake Watson, Justin Holmes, Steve Belanger, Danny Benedict, Eric Yorke, Warren Paxton, Jordan Howse, Miles Tyson, Terry Woodley, Bob Phinnemore and Richard Butler.

On the drop of the green flag, McFerran would put the No. 64 Peter D. Laird Transport, Sauble Falls Tent & Trailer Park, Road Ranger, East End Car Wash, B&B Towing, Creative Edge Graphics, Finish Line Painting & Restoration, DS McClure Farms, AMD Electric, Ultimate Finishes and Matalco Mustang out in front of the field ahead of Butler, Gerritt Tiemersma and Shaw.

Crumbie would move into third on lap three ahead of Tiemersma and Tolton as Kamrath and Shaw battled for sixth. Kamrath would get the spot on lap four, as Tiemersma got alongside Crumbie for third on lap five. Tiemersma would then move into third on lap seven, with Kamrath following through to take fourth as Crumbie, Howse and Tolton went three-wide for fifth on lap eight. Howse would get the fifth spot on lap 10 ahead of Crumbie and Tolton.

Paxton would add his name to the picture at the front of the field, passing Tolton for seventh at lap 11. He would then get alongside Crumbie for sixth, as Howse got alongside Kamrath for fourth. Howse would grab the fourth spot on lap 16 ahead of Kamrath, Paxton, Crumbie, Tolton and Benedict.

At the halfway mark, Paxton would get alongside Kamrath for fifth, making the pass a lap later. Crumbie would continue to seventh ahead of Benedict, Tolton, Yorke and Shaw. Benedict then get alongside Crumbie for seventh on lap 19, completing the pass two laps later. Yorke would move by Tolton to move up to ninth while Shaw and Montanari battled for 11th. Yorke continued his climb, passing Crumbie for eighth and bringing Tolton through with him.

Further up the field, Howse would get alongside Tiemersma for the third spot, looking to continue his climb to the front. The pair would then run side-by-side as they came up on the lap car of Richard Butler. They would take Butler three-wide and as they looked to clear Butler, Tiemersma came down the track a little, perhaps looking to pin Howse behind Butler as a pick. The plan wouldn’t work, though, as the contact between Tiemesrma and Howse would result in Howse being turned into the inside front stretch wall with two laps to go. Howse would be done for the feature with front end damage.

Brandon McFerran would get a good restart to seize the victory ahead of Warren Paxton, who was able to make a last lap pass on Doug Butler for second. Andy Kamrath and Eric Yorke would round out the top-five, followed by Danny Benedict, Bobby Tolton, Miles Tyson, Nic Montanari, Terry Woodley, Samantha Shaw, Justin Holmes, Bob Phinnemore, Steve Belanger, Jake Watson, Gerritt Tiemersma and Richard Butler.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.