Flamboro Speedway

Flamboro Speedway Celebrates 2021 and 2022 Champions at Annual Awards Banquet

ROCKTON, Ontario — Even though preparations are already in high gear for the 2023 campaign, there was still some left over business to attend to from the 2021 and 2022 seasons. This past Saturday January 28, all of the drivers and crews got together to celebrate the track champions from the past two seasons and hand out some hardware.

With five wins and 19 top-five’s, Mark Burbridge was able to take home the 2022 Grisdale Race Products Late Model Championship, while Kyle Steckly took the honor for the 2021 campaign. Of note, Fitzpatrick was your 2022 Grisdale Triple Crown winner with Shae Gemmell taking the honor for 2021.

With 10 wins and 19 top-five’s, Lane Zardo was your 2022 Super Stock Champion, with Carson Nagy taking home the honour for the 2021 campaign.

A total of 12 wins and 24 top-five’s gave Bobby Mercer the 2022 Klotz Auto Repair and Machine Shop Mini Stock Championship, with Gillian Hils getting the trophy for 2021.

Reece Bourgeois was the 2022 McClurkin Properties Cambridge Pure Stock Champion with three wins and 18 top-five finishes. Bobby Mercer, meanwhile, took the honour for 2021.

The 2022 Flamboro Speedway Memorial Night of Champions winners were also recognized, as well, as follows – Gillian Hils (Pure Stock), Bobby Mercer (Mini Stock), Chase Pinsonneault (Super Stock), Shawn Chenoweth (Late Model), and Tim Norris (Ontario Pro Challenge). The group shared in a toast to those in the community we have lost over the past several years.

On top of the champions being honoured for their accomplishments, there were several awards handed out.

Each division saw steady growth through the year with solid car counts throughout the season, including a couple first year competitors. Cameron Thomson took home Rookie of the Year honours in the Pure Stocks, with Chase Pinsonneault leading the way in the Super Stocks. Both drivers were able to reach victory lane on several occasions throughout 2022, along with Late Model Rookie of the Year Ty Cavallin scoring his first career victory on August 6.

There were others who stood out simply by how their cars appeared on-track, and one driver per division was received recognition with the “Best Appearing Car” Award. The following drivers were the winners, with their division in the bracket that follows: Chris Howse (Late Model), Chase Pinsonneault (Super Stock), Jason Thomson (Mini Stock), and Reece Bourgeois (Pure Stock).

Another atmosphere that you always see walking through the pits is respect among competitors. There are some drivers, who stand out in that department, and each division was allowed to award their most sportsmanlike driver. The honors went to Alex Stewart (Pure Stock), Jason Thomson (Mini Stock), Chase Pinsonneault (Super Stock), and the entire Late Model division.

Running up front weekly is everyone’s goal, and that was recognized at the banquet with each division seeing the drivers who held the most checkered flags receive a trophy of recognition. The following drivers were the winners, with their division and number of victories in the bracket that follows: Mark Burbridge (Late Model – 5), Lane Zardo (Super Stock – 10), Bobby Mercer (Mini Stock – 12), and Cameron Thomson (Pure Stock – 7).

On the flip side, there were some drivers who battled adversity through the year with several tough occurrences. Those competitors were recognized for their perseverance with the Hard Luck Award. The following drivers were the winners, with their division in the bracket that follows: Moses Ruiz (Pure Stock), Shawn Taylor (Mini Stock), and Kevin Albers (Late Model).

The Perfect Attendance Award was given to the drivers that were able to run all of the nights scheduled for their division through the 2022 season.

With the banquet out of the way, the focus shifts entirely on the upcoming 2023 campaign as the full schedule was revealed at the banquet.

The pre-season driver’s meeting and registration for the Late Models, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, and Pure Stocks is scheduled for Sunday February 5, beginning at 12pm, at the Milgrove Community Center – 855 Millgrove Side Road.

The full schedule once released, along with any other information you may inquire about, can be found on the track’s website at http://www.flamborospeedway.ca. Be sure to keep up with the latest by following the speedway on Twitter at https://twitter.com/FlamboroSpdwy and Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/flamborospeedway.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.