mini stocks

Doug Butler Dominates as Jason D’Antimo Secures Mini Stock Championship

INNISFIL, Ontario — Taking the lead in the early laps, a familiar sight occurred with Doug Butler dominating the Mini Stock feature on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

Meanwhile, consistency on a weekly basis in running each feature paid off for Jason D’Antimo with the 2022 Mini Stock Sunset Speedway Championship.

Curtis Stewart won the first heat in front of Blaise Shaw, Bob Phinnemore, Jason D’Antimo, Coleridge Phinnemore, Ryan D’Antimo, Carson Nagy, Eric Rainey, and Madison Tienkamp.

Cole Quinton was victorious in the second qualifier despite a bump from Doug Butler on the third lap through turns three and four. Chandler Bos placed third ahead of Johnny Paradzinski, Johnny Morrison, John Bird, Peter Wakeling, and Wyatt Sutcliffe.

The third heat was a little messy, with Nagy getting into the backstretch grass, followed by a spin in turns one and two for the caution. The restart saw Stewart hook Coleridge Phinnemore into the outside frontstretch wall on Lap 2, followed by Bob Phinnemore getting into Ryan D’Antimo in the next attempt. Blaise Shaw picked up his first checkered flag in front of Bob Phinnemore, Jason D’Antimo, Rainey, and Tienkamp.

Johnny Paradzinski was victorious in the fourth qualifier ahead of Butler, Quinton, Bos, Bird, Cameron McGlashan, Wakeling, and Sutcliffe.

Come feature time, Eric Rainey started pole in front of Johnny Morrison, Bob Phinnemore, Jason D’Antimo, John Bird, Chandler Bos, Blaise Shaw, Doug Butler, Johnny Paradzinski, Cole Quinton, Curtis Stewart, Ryan D’Antimo, Wyatt Sutcliffe, Peter Wakeling, Madison Tienkamp, Carson Nagy, and Coleridge Phinnemore.

Cameron McGlashan grabbed the early advantage, as Butler and Bos battled for second in front of Jason D’Antimo, Paradzinski, and Quinton. Butler got the spot on Lap 3, with Paradzinski challenging D’Antimo for fourth a lap later.

All eyes focused on the lead, though, as Doug Butler got alongside McGlashan for the top spot on Lap 5, passing him a lap later to take over the top spot. McGlashan ran second in front of Bos, Paradzinski, Quinton, D’Antimo, Stewart, Ryan D’Antimo, Shaw, Bob Phinnemore, Bird, and Wakeling. Coleridge Phinnemore got alongside Wakeling for 12th on Lap 10, completing the pass a lap later. Unfortunately, Paradzinski’s strong run came to end at the same time, with him heading pit side.

Doug Butler led the rest of the way en route to winning in front of Cameron McGlashan, Chandler Bos, Cole Quinton, and Curtis Stewart.

With consistency and completion of laps no matter the circumstance each week, Jason D’Antimo was crowned the 2022 Mini Stock Champion.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.