Race Reports

Gerrit Tiemersma Overcomes Adversity for Super Stock Victory at Sunset Speedway

INNISFIL, Ontario — Gerrit Tiemersma seemingly had nothing going his way, as after enduring a rough night at Delaware Speedway, he could not get his truck started to return back home. It was fellow championship contender Johnny Morrison who towed Tiemersma’s car home, and then helped him fix a broken transmission after practice to allow the No. 17 to compete on Saturday.

The efforts were rewarded, with Tiemersma edging out Morrison at the checkered flag for the win.

Johnny Morrison won the first heat in front of Brandon McFerran, Connor Maltese, Dan Archibald, and Paul Pepper, with Nick Tooley pulling off.

Gord Shepherd was victorious in the second qualifier ahead of Miles Tyson, Matt McGrath, Cory McAllister, Gerrit Tiemersma, and Joe Daley.

Brandon McFerran won the third heat in front of Archibald, Morrison, Maltese, and Tooley, with Tooley going around on the last lap.

Miles Tyson was victorious in the fourth qualifier ahead of Shepherd, McAllister, Tiemersma, McGrath, and Daley.

Come feature time, Dan Robb grabbed the early advantage ahead of Johnny Morrison and Brandon McFerran. Morrison would get alongside Robb for the top spot on Lap 2, as Gerrit Tiemersma worked his way up to fourth in front of Cory McAllister and Miles Tyson.

Johnny Morrison would take over the lead on Lap 6, bringing McFerran, Tiemersma, and McAllister followed him through, with Tyson alongside Robb for fifth. Connor Maltese ran seventh ahead of Dan Archibald, Gord Shepherd, Nick Tooley, Paul Pepper, and Joe Daley. Tyson would take over fifth on Lap 10, with Tiemersma getting alongside McFerran for second a lap later.

Tiemersma would take over second on Lap 13, as McAllister ran fourth in front of Tyson, Maltese, Archibald, Shepherd, Robb, and Tooley. Tooley got alongside Robb for ninth on Lap 16, as Pepper rounded out the top-11 cars. Shepherd got alongside Archibald for seventh a lap later, completing the pass on Lap 18 for the spot. Tooley ran ninth ahead of Robb and Pepper.

With 20 laps on the board, Morrison held down the top spot ahead of Tiemersma and McFerran, but it would not last. Tiemersma got alongside Morrison for the lead a lap later, but the caution came out on Lap 22 for Archibald going around in turn two. With nine laps to go, Morrison led Tiemersma, McFerran, Tyson, McAllister, Shepherd, Maltese, Robb, Pepper, Daley, Tooley, and Archibald.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Johnny Morrison and Gerrit Tiemersma, with the pair remaining side-by-side for the next four laps, before the yellow flag returned courtesy of Archibald going around in turn four. Under caution, Tyson headed down pit road, done for the event with a mechanical issue.

The restart saw the battle for the lead continue, with Gerrit Tiemersma snagging the victory in front of Johnny Morrison. Cory McAllister slipped sideways to a third, with Brandon McFerrran and Gord Shepherd rounding the top-five.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.