Delaware Speedway

Dalen Martin Leads Flag-to-Flag En Route to OSCAAR Hot Rod Delaware Speedway Victory

LONDON, Ontario — Taking the lead off the drop of the green flag, Dalen Martin led flag-to-flag en route to winning the Qwick Wick Fire Starter OSCAAR Hot Rod feature fueled by EPIC Racewear on day two of OSCAAR Nationals at Delaware Speedway on Saturday.

Tom Walters won the first JRS Auctions heat, followed by Steve Book, Jerry Broom, Jeremy Taggart, Mat Hopkins, Bill Zardo Sr., Dave Evison Sr., Bill Clarke, and Gary Hannah.

Cole Weber was victorious in the second qualifier ahead of Dalen Martin, Kris Lawrence, Amanda Balson, Paul Senior, Rob Bromley, Connor Ellis, Ryan Cowan, and Jim Blackwell. Both Nick Clarke and Steve Adams pulled off during the heat.

Come feature time, Kris Lawrence started pole in front of Dalen Martin, Cole Weber, Jeremy Taggart, Steve Book, Amanda Balson, Tom Walters, Mat Hopkins, Paul Senior, Bill Zardo Sr., Rob Bromley, Dave Evison Sr., Connor Ellis, Bill Clarke, Ryan Cowan, Gary Hannah, Jim Blackwell, Jordan Morris, Steve Adams, Nick Clarke, Bill Brekelsman, Jeremy McLean, and Dan Rothwell.

Dalen Martin broke out to the early advantage in front of Lawrence, Weber, Taggart, Broom, and Walters. Walters would get alongside Broom for fourth on Lap 3 ahead of Balson, as Senior and Book battled for seventh. The first caution would come out on Lap 6 for Bromley breaking a rear-end off of turn four.

Dalen Martin got another good restart with Taggart up to second in front of Broom and Lawrence, as Broom and Walters battled for fifth. The caution would then come out a lap later, for a spin by Taggart, involving Broom.

The restart would see Walters tag the back of Lawrence, turning him, resulting in several other drivers getting caught in the wreck as well – Taggart, Weber, Ellis, Brekelsmans, Blackwell, McLean, Balson, Adams, Evison Sr., Cowan, Hopkins, and Hannah among those.

Dalen Martin would get a good restart to lead the field the rest of the eight laps to complete the 15-lap feature, in front of Nick Clarke, Bill Zardo Sr., Jerry Broom, and Steve Book.

Special shout-out to Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., and McColl Racing Enterprises for sponsoring the bonus money this weekend.

OSCAAR is proud to be supported by Qwick Wick Fire Starters, Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park, JRS Auctions, Point S Tire and Auto Services, Knightworks Design, McColl Racing Enterprises, EPIC Racewear, and The Fyre Place & Patio Shop.

Be sure to keep up with OSCAAR by staying tuned to the series website at Also, make sure to “like” the official OSCAAR Racing Facebook page, while following both the Twitter and Instagram accounts (@OSCAARRacing) to keep up to date on everything you need to know.

Race Report by: Ashley McCubbin

1 #26 Dalen Martin
2 #86 Nick Clarke
3 #46 Bill Zardo Sr.
4 #93 Jerry Broom
5 #47 Steve Book
6 #9 Cole Weber
7 #15 Dave Evison Sr.
8 #8sr Paul Senior
9 #48 Connor Ellis
10 #13 Ryan Cowan
11 #58 Jeremy Taggart
12 #10k Kris Lawrence
13 #16 Amanda Balson
14 #44 Mat Hopkins
15 #07 Bill Brekelsman
16 #99 Steve Adams
17 #88 Jeremy McLean
18 #1 Jim Blackwell
19 #03 Gary Hannah
20 #6 Rob Bromley
21 #73 Jordan Morris
Bkflg #47w Tom Walters
DNS #0 Bill Clarke
DNS #21 Dan Rothwell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.