Kamrath Scores Third Straight Victory; Edwards Crowned Modified Champion

PETERBOROUGH, Ontario — Taking the lead in the early laps, Andy Kamrath did not look back en route to winning the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds presented by Just Foam It Autumn Colours Classic feature at Peterborough Speedway.

Meanwhile, the consistency paid off for T.J. Edwards en route to winning the 2021 OSCAAR Modified Championship.

Dale Reinhart won the first heat in front of T.J. Edwards, Kelly Balson, Bob Franks, Norman Newman, Ben Gruntz, and Jase Cornell, while Jeff Walt did not take the green flag.

The second qualifier would see Luke Gignac go around in turns three and four on Lap 3, followed by a spin in the same corner by Tommy Robb on the restart. A.J. Emms was victorious ahead of Andy Kamrath, Chad Strawn, Coltin Everingham, Jason Keen, Ryan Dick, Herb Walters, Tommy Robb, and Luke Gignac.

The third heat started off in a big way, with Cornell climbing the frontstretch wall, before going off the turn one exit of the track. The caution then came out a lap later for Reinhart stopped on the frontstretch. Andy Kamrath picked up the checkered flag in front of Dick, Edwards, Everingham, Strawn, Reinhart, Newman, and Cornell.

Jeff Walt was victorious in the fourth qualifier ahead of Keen, Gignac, Walters, Balson, Strawn, Emms, and Franks, with Robb not taking the green flag.

Come feature time, Coltin Everingham started pole in front of Dale Reinhart, Andy Kamrath, Kelly Balson, A.J. Emms, Jason Keen, T.J. Edwards, Chad Strawn, Ryan Dick, Jeff Walt, Luke Gignac, Bob Franks, Herb Walters, Norman Newman, Ben Gruntz, Jase Cornell, Tommy Robb, Wally Wilson, and Brian McLean. Notably, J.R. Fitzpatrick would fill in for Strawn, dropping him to the tail of the field for the start.

The drop of the green flag would see Everingham and Reinhart side-by-side for the top spot ahead of Kamrath. Kamrath would take the pair three-wide on Lap 2, taking over the top spot as he brought through Emms with him.

Everingham now ran third in front of Reinhart, as Edwards and Balson battled for fifth, but the caution would come out for McLean slowing. With 48 laps to go, Kamrath led Emms, Everingham, Reinhart, Edwards, Balson, Walt, Keen, Gignac, Walters, Dick, Newman, Fitzpatrick, Gruntz, Downey, Cornell, Franks, Robb, and Wilson.

Kamrath got a good restart ahead of Emms, with Reinhart moving into third in front of Edwards, as Walt battled Everingham for fifth. Walt got the spot on Lap 5, bringing Gignac, Fitzpatrick and Balson through with him, to bump Everingham back to ninth in front of Walters.

Walters and Keen would then get by Everingham a lap later, with Newman and Dick following suit before the yellow flag at Lap 14 for Downey laying down fluid. Under the caution, Everingham came down pit road, done for the event.

Kamrath got another good restart ahead of Emms, Reinhart, Edwards, Walt, Fitzpatrick, Walters, Balson, Newman, Keen, Gignac, Dick, Robb, Franks, and Gruntz. Fitzpatrick would get by Walt for fifth on Lap 19, with Franks getting by Robb for 13th before the third caution at Lap 22 for Walt having a flat right front tire.

Kamrath kept the good restarts coming as Reinhart moving into second ahead of Fitzpatrick, with Emms back to fourth in front of Edwards and Walters. Fitzpatrick then moved into second on Lap 24, with Balson up to seventh in front of Keen, Gignac, Newman, Dick, and Robb.

Balson would then get alongside Walters for sixth on Lap 28, completing the pass a lap later. The shuffling continued with Newman getting by Gignac for ninth on Lap 42, and Emms and Edwards both getting by Reinhart in the final two laps.

Andy Kamrath led the rest of the way en route to scoring the feature victory in front of J.R. Fitzpatrick, A.J. Emms, TJ Edwards, and Dale Reinhart.

The event also featured bonuses that were donated by supporters of motorsports in the week leading up to the event. Thanks to those who sponsored, and congratulations to the winners.

· $100 for fifth at Lap 5 courtesy of BAE Environmental – Jeff Walt

· $100 for 7th at Halfway courtesy of Derek’s Blowers and Mowers – Kelly Balson

· $100 for 10th at Lap 30 courtesy of Simply Accurate Design – Norman Newman

· $100 in memory of Rudy Oppersma for leading Lap 40 – Andy Kamrath

As a result of consistency year long, TJ Edwards was able to secure not only the 2021 Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds presented by Just Foam It Championship, but Living Lighting Rookie of the Year honors and the John Harper Hard Charger Award.

The 2021 OSCAAR Modified season is sponsored by Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Just Foam It, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., The Fyre Place & Patio Shop, American Racer, and Grisdale Race Products.

Be sure to keep up with OSCAAR by staying tuned to the series website at http://www.oscaar.ca. Also, make sure to “like” the official OSCAAR Racing Facebook page, while following both the Twitter and Instagram accounts (@OSCAARRacing) to keep up to date on everything you need to know.

By: Ashley McCubbin

OSCAAR Modified Feature Finish

  1. Andy Kamrath
  2. J.R. Fitzpatrick
  3. A.J. Emms
  4. TJ Edwards
  5. Dale Reinhart
  6. Kelly Balson
  7. Herb Walters
  8. Jason Keen
  9. Norman Newman
  10. Luke Gignac
  11. Ryan Dick
  12. Tommy Robb
  13. Bob Franks
  14. Jase Cornell
  15. Brian McLean
  16. Wally Wilson
  17. Jeff Walt
  18. Coltin Everingham
  19. Craig Downey

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.