mini stocks

Eric Yorke Scores Mini Stock Victory at Sunset Speedway

INNISFIL, Ontario — Eric Yorke still proved he has speed in the Nissan despite a brief hiatus from competition, as evident by a trip to victory lane on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

Paul Bogensberger Jr. won the first heat ahead of Ryan D’Antimo, Paul Maltese, Dylan Bowman, Peter Wakeling, Allan Lankin, Kyle D’Antimo, and Curtis Stewart.

Josh Bullen was victorious in the second qualifier ahead of Eric Yorke, Charlie Smith, Bryan Penny, Johnny Morrison, Lisa Yorke, and Madisson Tienkamp. Kris inglis took the green flag, but brought the car down pit road shortly after the green with issues.

Ryan D’Antimo won the third heat ahead of Maltese, Bogensberger Jr., Kyle D’Antimo, and Lankin. There’d be incident mid-race, with Bowman getting loose off of turn four, taking Wakeling down to the inside wall.

The fourth qualifier started out with a bang, literally, as Ken Townsend went up in smoke. Following the restart, McGlashan tag Bullen, with Bullen spinning Penny around. it wouldn’t end there, with Penny spinning Bullen back out a couple laps later. Eric Yorke was victorious ahead of Smith, McGlashan, Lisa Yorke, and Inglis.

Come feature time, Kyle D’Antimo started pole ahead of Dylan Bowman, Paul Bogensberger Jr., Cameron McGlashan, Connor Maltese, Charlie Smith, Josh Bullen, Ryan D’Antimo, Lisa Yorke, Eric Yorke, Allan Lankin, Peter Wakeling, Bryan Penny, Kris Inglis, and Madisson Tienkamp.

The race started off with Bogensberger Jr. getting sideways off the start in the second row, with Smith breaking out to the early advantage on Lap 2 as Bogensberger Jr. battled Ryan D’Antimo for second, with McGlashan and Yorke side-by-side for third. Bogensberger Jr. got the spot on Lap 5, with Yorke getting alongside D’Antimo next for third, and completing the pass a lap later.

Yorke did not stop there, making the move for second on Lap 7, bringing Bullen through with him to bump Bogensberger Jr. back to fifth ahead of D’Antimo, as McGlashan and Penny battled for seventh ahead of Maltese.

With 14 laps on the board, Smith led ahead of Eric Yorke, Bullen, Bogensberger Jr., D’Antimo, Penny, McGlashan, Maltese, Bowman, Lankin, Kyle D’Antimo, and Lisa Yorke. Penny would then get alongside Ryan D’Antimo for fifth on Lap 18, making the pass a lap later. Behind them, Maltese would then challenge McGlashan for seventh.

All eyes focused on the front of the field, with Yorke getting alongside Smith for the lead on Lap 20, completing the pass a lap later. Bullen would then get alongside Smith two laps later, with their side-by-side battle lasting to the checkered flag.

Eric Yorke scored the victory ahead of Josh Bullen, Charlie Smith and Paul Bogensberger Jr., with Bryan Penny crossing the finish line in fifth. He would be disqualified post-race, bumping Cameron McGlashan up to fifth ahead of Ryan D’Antimo, Paul Maltese, Allan Lankin, and Kyle D’Antimo. Lisa Yorke placed 11th, followed by Peter Wakeling, Kris Inglis, and Madisson Tienkamp.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.