Race Reports

Rick Spencer-Walt Makes Late Race Pass for Victory at Sunset Speedway

INNISFIL, Ontario — A couple late-race restarts would play out as Rick Spencer-Walt wanted, as he scored the feature victory on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

Rick Spencer-Walt scored the victory in the first heat ahead of Dustyn Mombourquette, Kendra Adams, Daniel Montanari, Tyler Segan, Al Inglis, and Chris McIssac.

Paul Maltese won the second qualifier ahead of Billy Zardo, Alex Hastie, Miles Tyson, Mike Wilkinson, and Ryan D’Antimo.

Daniel Montanari won the third heat ahead of Spencer-Walt, Mombourquette, Adams, Inglis, Segan, and McIssac.

Billy Zardo won the final qualifier ahead of Hastie, Tyson, Wilkinson, Brandt Graham, D’Antimo, and Paul Maltese, with Maltese spinning on the last lap in turn four.

Come feature time, Alex Hastie started pole ahead of Dustyn Mombourquette, Billy Zardo, Rick Spencer-Walt, Daniel Montanari, Kendra Adams, Miles Tyson, Paul Maltese, Brandt Graham, Mike Wilkinson, Tyler Segan, Al Inglis, Ryan D’Antimo, and Chris McIssac.

Dustyn Mombourquette broke out to the early advantage ahead of Hastie, with Zardo and Spencer-Walt side-by-side for third ahead of Adams, Maltese, and Montanari. Maltese would give Adams a bump up the track on Lap 3, allowing both him and Montanari to get by.

At the front of the field, Spencer-Walt moved into third on Lap 4, with Montanari getting alongside Maltese for fifth ahead of Tyson, Adams, Wilkinson, Graham, Inglis, Segan, D’Antimo, and McIssac. Spencer-Walt would then get alongside Hastie for second on Lap 8, taking the spot as Zardo ran fourth with the battle for fifth continuing ahead of Tyson. Zardo would then get by Hastie for third on Lap 12, with Maltese finally clearing for fifth, bringing Tyson through with him.

Mombourquette would continue to lead ahead of Spencer-Walt, Zardo, and Hastie, with Tyson and Maltese side-by-side for fourth. Tyson took the spot on Lap 16, with the caution coming out a lap later for Segan going around off of turn four.

The restart would see a battle for the lead between Mombourquette and Spencer-Walt, but another yellow flag on Lap 18 for Inglis spun around in turn two. The restart saw the third caution for Issac and D’Antimo getting together in turn two. The second attempt would see a battle for the lead between Mombourquette and Spencer-Walt, with Zardo and Hastie side-by-side for third. Zardo got the spot on Lap 20, with Tyson challenging Tyson for fifth. However, the yellow flag would return, this time on Lap 21 for another spin by Segan.

The restart would kick-start the battle for the lead back up, as Zardo took over third on Lap 23, with Tyson following him through a couple laps later, as Maltese and Adams battled for sixth. Spencer-Walt would take over the top spot on Lap 26, with Zardo following him through a couple laps later for second. Mombourquette and Tyson now battled for third with two laps later, as Hastie and Adams ran side-by-side for fifth.

Rick Spencer-Walt picked up the checkered flag ahead of Billy Zardo, Miles Tyson, Dustyn Mombourquette, and Alex Hastie. Kendra Adams finished sixth, followed by Paul Maltese, Daniel Montanari, Mike Wilkinson, and Brandt Graham. Al Inglis placed 11th, followed by Tyler Sagan, Chris McIssac, and Ryan D’Antimo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.