mini stocks

Samantha Shaw Scores Fifth Victory of the 2019 Campaign at Sunset Speedway

Making her way through the field, Samantha Shaw drove her No. 81 Mustang to her fifth victory of the 2019 Sunset Speedway G.D. Coates Used Car Superstore Mini Stock season.

Terry Woodley won the first heat ahead of Connor Maltese, Melissa Bullen, Bob Phinnemore, Jason D’Antimo, Eric Rainey, and Peter Wakeling.

The second heat featured a quick yellow flag on Lap 6, when Ryan DiBello spun Samantha Shaw. Tyler Seaboyer picked up the win ahead of Shaw, DiBello, Chandler Bos, Curtis Stewart, Chris Thompson, and Morgan Robson Jr.

The third heat featured a hard crash on Lap 1 when Phinnemore got loose off of turn four, coming up into the track into Rainey, with the pair coming back across the track making contact with the inside wall. Thankfully, neither driver was injured. Melissa Bullen picked up the win ahead of Woodley, Maltese, D’Antimo, and Wakeling.

Samantha Shaw won the fourth heat ahead of DiBello, Seaboyer, Bos, Thompson, Stewart, and Robson Jr.

Come feature time, Peter Wakeling started pole ahead of Jason D’Antimo, Connor Maltese, Curtis Stewart, Chris Thompson, Melissa Bullen, Terry Woodley, Tyler Seaboyer, Samantha Shaw, Ryan DiBello, Chandler Bos, and Morgan Robson Jr.

Jason D’Antimo jumped out into the early race lead, with Wakeling and Bullen side-by-side for second. Bullen got the spot, getting alongside D’Antimo for the lead on Lap 2. Melissa Bullen moved into the lead a lap later ahead of D’Antimo, as Wakeling and DiBello battled for third. DiBello got the spot, though was immediately challenged for third by Shaw.

Shaw moved into third on Lap 4, challenging D’Antimo for second a lap later. Shaw would get the spot on Lap 6, with DiBello next to challenge D’Antimo. It would not go smoothly, with DiBello going around in turn two for the race’s first caution at Lap 7.

Samantha Shaw got a good restart, taking over the top spot ahead of Bullen and D’Antimo, as Stewart and DiBello battled for fourth on Lap 9. DiBello got the spot a lap later, with Woodley trying to follow him through. Behind them, Maltese and Seaboyer battled for seventh ahead of Bos.

DiBello would get alongside D’Antimo for third on Lap 12, completing the pass a lap later. Woodley would then get alongside D’Antimo, with Seaboyer up into sixth on Lap 14. Seaboyer then made the big move, passing both Woodley and D’Antimo to move up into fourth on Lap 16. Maltese ran seventh ahead of Stewart and Bos.

Maltese then got alongside D’Antimo for sixth on Lap 18, with Bos challenging Stewart for eighth. Maltese would get the spot a lap later, with Bos passing Stewart with four laps to go. Unfortunately, Seaboyer’s strong run came to an end as he headed down pit road on Lap 22 with a mechanical issue.

Samantha Shaw picked up the victory ahead of Melissa Bullen, Ryan D’Antimo, Terry Woodley, and Connor Maltese. Jason D’Antimo finished sixth, followed by Chandler Bos, Curtis Stewart, Chris Thompson, Peter Wakeling, and Morgan Robson Jr.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.