Race Reports

Dwayne Baker Dominates 75-Lap Feature at Sunset Speedway

Even with a couple late race twists and turns, Dwayne Baker was able to dominate en route to winning the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

The first heat did not start off smoothly, with Ernie Fumerton spinning Robbie Sikes on Lap 2 for the first caution. A second caution came out on Lap 8 for debris, following additional contact between Fumerton and Sikes. Dwayne Baker picked up the win ahead of Mike Wilkinson, Ernie Fumerton, Brandon Feeney, Ron Quesnelle, Stefan Semeraro, and Robbie Sikes.

The second heat also featured a caution, with Travis Hallyburton spinning Kendra Adams. Thayne Hallyburton picked up the win ahead of Paul Maltese, Rick Spencer-Walt, Daniel Montanari, Al Inglis, and Adams.

The third heat would see a yellow flag at Lap 3 when Semeraro spun Sikes. Mike Wilkinson picked up the win ahead of Baker, Sikes, Feeney, Quesnelle, and Semeraro.

Travis Hallyburton won the final heat ahead of Adams, Spencer-Walt, Thayne Hallyburton, Maltese, Inglis, and Montanari.

Come feature time, Travis Hallyburton started pole ahead of Kendra Adams, Brandon Feeney, Paul Maltese, Rick Spencer-Walt, Thayne Hallyburton, Dwayne Baker, Mike Wilkinson, Robbie Sikes, Stefan Semeraro, Daniel Montanari, Al Inglis, Ernie Fumerton, and Ron Quesnelle.

Travis Hallyburton and Kendra Adams would battle early for the lead, with Adams getting the top spot on Lap 2 ahead of Hallyburton and Maltese. Spencer-Walt would get alongside Maltese for third on Lap 3, with Thayne Hallyburton and Baker side-by-side for fifth ahead of Wilkinson. Spencer-Walt got the spot on Lap 5, with Baker moving up into fourth.

Baker would get by Spencer-Walt, getting alongside Travis Hallyburton for second on Lap 6. Baker got the spot a lap later, with Spencer-Walt looking to follow suit. Behind them, Maltese ran fifth ahead of Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Inglis, Sikes, and Fumerton.

Dwayne Baker would get alongside Adams for the lead on Lap 10, taking the top spot a lap later. Spencer-Walt ran third ahead of Travis Hallyburton, Maltese, Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson and Inglis, with Sikes and Fumerton side-by-side for ninth. Sikes got the spot on Lap 16 ahead of Fumerton, Montanari, and Semeraro.

Spencer-Walt would get alongside Adams for second on Lap 16, completing the pass a lap later. Travis Hallyburton continued to run fourth ahead of Maltese, Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Inglis, Fumerton, and Sikes. Thayne would get alongside Maltese for fifth on Lap 20, with Sikes alongside Fumerton for ninth. Quesnelle looked to move forward, as well, getting alongside Semeraro for 12th on Lap 23.

With 25 laps on the board, Baker continued to lead ahead of Spencer-Walt, as Adams and Travis Hallyburton battled for third. Adams would use the lap car of Feeney as a pick to keep the spot, with Maltese still in fifth ahead of Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Fumerton and Inglis, as Sikes battled Montanari for 10th.  Once clear of lap traffic, Travis would be able to get back alongside Adams for third on Lap 29.

Baker would continue to lead with 31 laps on the board ahead of Spencer-Walt as the battle continued for third between Travis Hallyburton and Kendra Adams ahead of Maltese.

Hallyburton would get the spot on Lap 33 ahead of Adams, as Thayne Hallyburton challenged Maltese for fifth. Wilkinson ran seventh ahead of Fumerton, with Inglis and Montanari side-by-side for ninth ahead of Sikes, Quesnelle, and Semeraro. Inglis would get the spot on Lap 37.

Spencer-Walt would track down Baker for the lead, getting alongside him on Lap 38. He’d be unable to complete the pass, falling back in line as they’d go by the lapped car of Inglis. He’d get back alongside a lap later, though fell back in line once again due to another lap car – Montanari.

Baker would hold the lead with 42 laps on the board ahead of Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton and Adams, with Maltese and Thayne Hallyburton side-by-side for fifth ahead of Wilkinson, Fumerton, and Monatnari. Maltese got the spot on Lap 44, with Wilkinson challenging Hallyburton next.

Spencer-Walt would get alongside Baker once again on Lap 46, but the caution came out two laps later for Fumerton spinning in turn four. With 30 laps to go, Baker led Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, Adams, Maltese, Wilkinson, Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson, Fumerton, Maltese, Inglis, Semeraro, Sikes, Feeney, Semeraro, and McIssac. Under the caution, the No. 57 team would see a driver change, with McIssac behind the wheel instead of Quesnelle.

Baker would get a good restart to hold the lead ahead of Spencer-Walt and Travis Hallyburton, as Adams and Wilkinson battled for fourth ahead of Fumerton. Maltese would get alongside for Fumerton for sixth on Lap 51, with Adams clearing Wilkinson a lap later.

The battle for sixth continued ahead of Montanari, as Sikes and Thayne Hallyburton battled for seventh. Sikes got the spot on Lap 54 ahead of Hallyburton, McIssac, Semeraro, Inglis, and Feeney. Hallyburton challenged Sikes once again on Lap 56, but was unable to complete the pass.

With 61 laps on the board, Baker continued to lead ahead of Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, Adams and Wilkinson, as Fumerton and Maltese battled for sixth ahead of Montanari and Sikes. Maltese took the spot on Lap 66, with McIssac passing Thayne Hallyburton for 10th a lap later.

The race’s second caution would come out on Lap 69 for Montanari going around. On the restart, Spencer-Walt would spin in turn two, collecting Travis Hallyburton and Wilkinson. It was determined afterwards that fluid was put down by Feeney, who was having a rear-end issue.

After a lengthy clean-up, the race would go back green, only for a lap with the fourth caution coming out on Lap 70 for Thayne Hallyburton and Wilkinson going around.

Dwayne Baker got a good restart, cruising away to score the victory. The battle for second came right down to the checkered flag, with Paul Maltese getting the spot ahead of Kendra Adams. Ernie Fumerton and Thayne Hallyburton rounded out the top-five.

Mike Wilkinson finished sixth, followed by Robbie Sikes, Chris McIssac, Daniel Montanari, and Al Inglis. Stefan Semeraro finished 11th, followed by Rick Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, and Brandon Feeney.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.