Delaware Speedway


Race Fans, it was a thrilling night at the Delaware Speedway Oval Track with the Case ‘N Drum Oil Late Models Presented by MRE, Demar Aggregates Trucks, Doxtator Property Maintenance V8 Stocks and D.A.D.S. Bone Stocks fast half mile.  The pits were filled with cars, drivers, supported by their pit crews and stands filled with fans in anticipation of a great program and as always, they were not disappointed. Track was very fast, with many competitors running their fastest times of the year in practice and in qualifying.

The racing began with Group Qualifications; Bone Stock group, Trucks, V8 Stock and Late Models. Brent Pelley #77 was the Bone Stock fast qualifier. In the V8s and Trucks it was and Paul Fothergill #33 and Jacob Campbell #44 respectively.  Jo Lawrence #78 was fast again in the Late Model qualifications

Heat races were next up for the Bone Stock, Trucks, V8 Stock and Late Models

Bone Stock Heat

Heat 1 – Jordan Willms #92 held off Devon Bloemendal in Kassy Howards #59

Heat 2 – always fast Chris Medlinger #75 took the win over Kris Lawrence #50

Truck Heat

Heat 1 – Jacob Campbell #44 won another heat over Ryan Dyson #28

V8 Stock Heat

Heat 1 – Paul Fothergill #33 with a convincing win over Barry Watson #45

Late Model Heat

Heat 1 – Ray Morneau #03 grabbed the win with a commanding lead

Heat 2 – Jo Lawrence #78 was fastest again and held off a challenging Gary Adriaensen


Jordan Willms #92 led them to the green flag. Before lap 1 was completed, there was a major crash in turn 4 involving several cars. Major damage to Jordan Morris #73 and Nathan Rhea #26 with both being towed to the pits through for the night.  All other involved cars returned to the back of the pack. Willms #92 leads on the restart before being passed by Derek Moesker in Don Tomlinson’s white #2. The field got into a rhythm here and ran caution free. Moesker #2 started pulling away from the field. With Jordan Willms in tow. At the 10th lap mark, the order was Moesker #2, Willms #92, Cole #55, Lawrence #50 and the #07 of Nic Ramsay making up the top5. Chris Medlinger #75 took over the 5th spot on lap 12.  Lap 16, the caution flew with Matt Langford #03 slowing on the back stretch.  Lap 20, it was Moesker by six car lengths over a tight back of 7 cars all jockeying for 2nd place. This was a major battle with cars exchanging positions every lap.  At the finish it was Derek Moesker #2 with a four second lead over a hungry pack of cars. Jordan Willms got 2nd, Craig Cole #55 was 3rd, Kris Lawrence #50 in 4th with Chris Medlinger #75 rounding out the top 5


Lonny Thompson in his beautiful #4 Truck led them to green. Showing strength early Thompson started pulling away from the field, as the battle raged on behind him. By lap 7, the #4 Truck had a commanding lead over Jeff Ferguson #23 V8 Stock. Barry Watson #45, Jody Mason #4 and Paul Fothergill #33 rounding out the top 5. A Truck was leading with four V8 Stocks chasing him. Watson and Fothergill started to eat into Thompson’s lead. At lap 13, Barry Watson moved into the lead with Paul Fothergill right behind, displacing Lonny Thompson to 3rd. With only 10 laps remaining, Fothergill ’s black Monte Carlo moved past Barry Watson#45 to take over the lead.  On lap 25, it was Fothergill #33, Watson #45, Brockelmans #07, Thompson #4, and Ferguson #23. Ferguson #23 and Watson #45 slow on the track and both head for the pits with mechanical issues. Final 5 laps ran smoothly with Paul Fothergill #33 picking up another win. Bill Brekelmans #07 got a great second place finish with the Trucks of Lonny Thompson #4, Lucas Manning #66 and Ryan Dyson #28 rounding out the top 5. Paul Fothergill takes the V8 portion of the Feature and Lonny Thomson #4 and grabs his 3rd Feature win in the Truck portion.


Jason Lidster #11 led from the green flag with Matt Robblee #51 and Kris Lawrence #28L running side by side fighting for 2nd. First caution was on lap 9 when Tate O’Leary #28K spins in turn 2. On the restart lap, Kris Lawrence spins in turn 3 to bring out the caution again. Gary Adriaensen #55 slowed with a flat left front tire and heads to the pits for a quick tire change. He rejoins the field at the back of the pack. Caution again flies with the spin of Stan Adams in the #3 in turn 3. At lap 16, shows Jo Lawrence moving into the lead followed by Matt Robblee #51, relegating early leader Lidster #11 to 3rd. At the halfway point it was Lawrence, Robblee, Lidster, Jaden Chapman #23 and a great run by Rookie Piper Adams in his #70. The caution flew on lap 25 when Robblee spins on the back stretch. Also, Jaden Chapmen heads to the pits with mechanical issues. Adriaensen moves into 2nd on lap 26. A caution for a spin on lap 28 closes up the field. On the restart, Jo Lawrence and Gary Adriaensen pull away, with Kris Lawrence and Branden Verhoeven #7, making his first start of the Delaware 2019 season, ran side by side in a battle for 3rd. Piper Adams #70 heads for the pits in lap 33, ending his strongest run yet of the 2019 season. At the finish of 40 laps, Joe Lawrence #78 wins as he holds off a very strong run by Gary Adriaensen #55, who was all over Lawrence’s back bumper. Kris Lawrence #28L picked up a strong 3rd with Branden Verhoeven #7 in 4thand Ray Morneau #03 making a late race charge into 5th.

Another awesome night at Delaware Speedway. If you have not made it out this season, look to book a visit. You won’t be disappointed!

Photo’s by Dave Franks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.