Flamboro Speedway

A.J. Emms Dominates the OSCAAR Modified Feature at Flamboro Speedway

HAMILTON, Ontario — Taking the lead in the early stages, A.J. Emms led the rest of the way en route to winning the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales OSCAAR Modified feature presented by Touchwood Cabinets at Flamboro Speedway.

Dale Reinhart won the opening heat ahead of Jason Keen, Luke Gignac, Norman Newman, Ian Bourque, Jason Bowden, Wally Wilson, Bryan Batty, and Mark Hamacher.

Shawn Chenoweth won the second qualifier ahead of A.J. Emms, Gary Elliott, Brad Pearsall, Jase Cornell, Anthony DiBello, Jeff Showler, Ken Hayward, and Mike Westwood.

The third heat did not start out smoothly, with Batty making significant contact with the turn one wall on Lap 2. Jeff Showler picked up the win ahead of Gary Elliott, Jason Keen, Dale Reinhart, Jase Cornell, Jason Bowden, Ian Bourque, Mike Westwood, and Bryan Batty.

Shawn Chenoweth went for the daily double ahead of Luke Gignac, Brad Pearsall, A.J. Emms, Anthony DiBello, Norman Newman, Wally Wilson, Mark Hamacher, and Ken Hayward. Unfortunately, Hayward ran into issues on the last lap.

Come feature time, Brad Pearsall started pole ahead of Luke Gignac, A.J. Emms, Jason Keen, Dale Reinhart, Jeff Showler, Gary Elliott, Shawn Chenoweth, Norman Newman, Jase Cornell, Anthony DiBello, Ian Bourque, Jason Bowden, Mark Hamacher, Wally Wilson, and Ken Hayward.

Pearsall would get a good initial start to hold the lead, with Emms moving up into second ahead of Gignac, Keen, Reinhart, and Showler. Emms would then get alongside Pearsall for the lead on Lap 4, taking the top spot a lap later. Gignac continued to run third ahead of Keen, Reinhart, Chenoweth, Showler, Elliott, Newman, DiBello, Cornell, Bowden, Bourque, and Wilson.

With 16 laps on the board, Emms continued to lead ahead of Pearsall and Gignac, with Reinhart up to fourth ahead of Chenoweth, Keen, Showler, Elliott, and Newman. Keen continued to fall back, with Showler passing him for sixth on Lap 20. Behind Newman, DiBello ran 10th ahead of Cornell, Bowden, and Bourque.

Reinhart continued to move forward, passing Gignac for third on Lap 22, bringing Chenoweth through with him. Chenoweth then made his way up to third two laps later, with Gignac and Keen both around Reinhart, as Reinhart slowed with a mechanical issue before pulling off.

A.J. Emms led the rest of the way in the 40-lap feature to capture the win ahead of Brad Pearsall, Shawn Chenoweth, Luke Gignac, and Jason Keen. Gary Elliott finished sixth, followed by Norman Newman, Jeff Showler, Anthony DiBello, and Jase Cornell. Jason Bowden finished 11th, followed by Wally Wilson, Mark Hamacher, Ian Bourque, Dale Reinhart, and Ken Hayward.

The next race for the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds at Peterborough Speedway on Saturday, August 3, presented by The Fyre Place and Patio Shop.

Be sure to keep up with OSCAAR by staying tuned to the series website at http://www.oscaar.ca. Also, make sure to “like” the official OSCAAR Racing Facebook page, while following both the Twitter and Instagram accounts (@OSCAARRacing) to keep up to date on everything you need to know.

OSCAAR’s 2019 racing season is supported by several dedicated partners including Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Knightworks Design, Living Lighting Canada, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., American Racer, and Grisdale Race Products.

By: Ashley McCubbin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.