Outlaw Midgets

Carrothers Outbattles Mike Bradley to Victory at Sunset Speedway

Despite lap traffic sending them high and low, Adam Carrothers was able to hold off Mike Bradley to win the Outlaw Midget feature on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

The first heat didn’t start off well for some, with Lorne Van Dusen and Jessica James both running into problems. Robin McLean picked up the checkered flag ahead of Mike Bradley, Ryan Brown, Nigel Buttivant, Julia Capirchio, Zack Millman, Richard Woodland, and Monty Farrell.

The second heat saw Larry Lawson bring out the yellow flag on Lap 3 when he stalled, while Jody Bound went around off of turn two for the complete 360 and keep going following contact with Adam Carrothers. Carrothers picked up the checkered flag ahead of Steve Lassman, Bound, Dave Bradley, Doug Segan, Wayne McKibbon, Tyler Segan, Josh Inglis, and Rick Splawnyk.

The third heat did not start off well, with Jeff Blackburn breaking, along with James and Woodland. Mike Bradley picked up the win ahead of McLean, Brown, Buttivant, Van Dusen, Capirchio, Millman, and Farrell. Following the checkered flag, the wheel went flying off of Brown’s car, sending him for a spin.

The fourth heat would seed Dave Bradley spin in turn three, collecting McKibbon, Splawnyk, Inglis, and Tyler Segan. Adam Carrothers picked up the checkered flag ahead of Bound, Lassman, Spiez, Doug Segan, and Inglis.

Come feature time, Mike Bradley started pole ahead of Adam Carrothers, Robin McLean, Kevin Spiez, Ryan Brown, Steve Lassman, Jody Bound, Zack Millman, Nigel Buttivant, Lorne Van Dusen, Monty Farrell, Richard Woodland, Jessica James, Doug Segan, Julia Capirchio, Josh Inglis, Larry Lawson, Jeff Blackburn, and Wayne McKibbon.

Mike Bradley grabbed the early advantage ahead of Carrothers and Bound, with McLean up to fourth ahead of Spiez, and Lassman. James ran sixth in the opening stages ahead of Woodland and Brown.

Bradley was unable to pull away from the field, though, as Carrothers kept right with him through the early laps. The persistence paid off, as he was able to pass him for the top spot on Lap 7. Bradley now ran second ahead of Bound, McLean, Lassman, Spiez, Woodland, Buttivant, and Brown. Segan would then get by Brown for the ninth spot on Lap 9, with Van Dusen rounding out the top 11.

With 13 laps on the board, Carrothers now led Bradley, Bound, and McLean as Spiez was able to work his way back into the top-five. it wouldn’t last, though, with both Lassman and Woodland passing him on Lap 15 for position.

As they weaved through lap cars, sometimes four-wide, Bradley was able to close the gap between himself and Carrothers. However, Carrothers managed both the traffic and gap well, able to keep the lead through the chaos.

Adam Carrothers picked up the victory ahead of Mike Bradley, Robin McLean, Jody Bound, and Richard Woodland. Kevin Spiez finished sixth, followed by Steve Lassman, Nigel Buttivant, Lorne Van Dusen, and Julia Capirchio. Doug Segan finished 11th, followed by Ryan Brown, Jeff Blackburn, Wayne McKibbon, Josh Inglis, Monty Farrell, Zac Millman, Larry Lawson, and Jessica James.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.