Race Reports

Danny Benedict Leads Flag-to-Flag En Route to Late Model Victory at Sunset Speedway

Setting the quickest time during qualifying at Sunset Speedway, Danny Benedict led flag-to-flag en route to scoring the victory in the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature.

Danny Benedict won the pole for the first feature with a lap of 14.620 seconds. Nick Goetz was second quickest at 14.627, followed by Paul Geniole Jr. (14.646), Rick Spencer-Walt (14.668), and Gord Shepherd (14.688). Josh Stade qualified sixth, followed by Dwayne Baker, Thayne Hallyburton, Ron Quesnelle, and Travis Hallyburton. Billy Zardo qualified 11th, followed by Paul Maltese, Daniel Montanari, Kendra Adams, Stefan Semeraro, Robbie Sikes, Mike Wilkinson, Ernie Fumerton, Al Inglis, Chris McIssac, Brandon Feeney, and TJ Rinomato.

Danny Benedict grabbed the lead on the opening lap, while Goetz ran side-by-side with Spencer-Walt for second. Goetz grabbed the spot on Lap 2 ahead of Spencer-Walt, with Geniole Jr. moving into fourth a lap later ahead of Stade and Shepherd. Stade would get alongside Geniole for fourth on Lap 4, completing the pass three laps later.

Shepherd continued to run sixth ahead of Travis Hallyburton, Baker, Quesnelle, and Billy Zardo. Maltese ran 11th, followed by Sikes, Montanari, Fumerton and Thayne Hallyburton, as Semeraro and Wilkinson battled for 16th . Semeraro got the spot on Lap 16 ahead of Wilkinson, while Inglis and McIssac rounded out the lead lap cars.

The field would string out single-file as they weaved through lap traffic, with Travis Hallyburton getting alongside Shepherd for sixth at Lap 17. He would be unable to complete the pass, though, having to fall back in line as they went around the lap car of Feeney.

With 20 laps on the board, Benedict continued to lead ahead of Goetz, Spencer-Walt, Geniole and Stade, with Travis Hallyburton back alongside Shepherd for sixth. Once again, Hallyburton was forced to fall back in line as they passed by the lap car of McIssac. The pair resumed their battle afterwards, with Hallyburton taking the sixth spot on Lap 26. Shepherd now ran seventh ahead of Baker, Quesnelle, Zardo, Maltese, Adams, Sikes, and Montanari.

The first caution would fly on Lap 30 for Montanari spinning in turn two. With five laps to go, Benedict led Goetz, Spencer-Walt, Geniole Jr., Stade, Hallyburton, Shepherd, Baker, Quesnelle, Zardo, and Maltese.

Benedict got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Goetz and Spencer-Walt, with Hallyburton alongside Stade for fifth. However, the caution came back out on Lap 33 as a result of Shepherd spinning in turn two, courtesy of contact with Adams. Semeraro would be collected in the process, but all three were able to continue without issue.

The first attempt at a restart produced the third caution with Rinomato spinning on the backstretch.

The second attempt went cleanly with Danny Benedict cruising to the race victory. Rick Spencer-Walt used the last restart to get by Nick Goetz for second, with Paul Geniole Jr. and Josh Stade rounding out the top-five. Travis Hallyburton finished sixth, followed by Ron Quesnelle, Dwayne Baker, Paul Maltese, and Robbie Sikes. Billy Zardo finished 11th, followed by Ernie Fumerton, Daniel Montanari, Kendra Adams, and Stefan Semeraro,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.