Peterborough Speedway

Justin Holmes Scores Autumn Colours Classic Thunder Car 50 Hat Trick

Starting on pole, Justin Holmes didn’t look back en route to scoring the victory in the Autumn Colours Classic Thunder Car 50 lap feature on Sunday.

Gerrit Tiemersma won the first heat ahead of Coltin Everingham, Ethan Constable, Hudson Nagy, Ryan Semple, and Rob Richards.

Brandon Passer won the second heat ahead of Dan Archibald, Matt Bentley, Herb Walters, Jerry Broom, Howie Crowe, and Robbie Sikes.

Tim Burke won the third heat ahead of Paul Boundy, Frank Davey, Marlie Owen, Paul Maltese, Neal Lebland, and Travis McLean.

Justin Holmes won the fourth heat ahead of Ken Grubb, Kris Lawrence, Connor James, and John Lavalle.

The fifth heat started off rough, with Semple breaking entering the first turn on Lap 1. Coltin Everingham took the win, holding onto the lead despite some late-race contact with Tiemersma. Nagy finished second, followed by Richards, Tiemersma, Constable, and Donny Beatty.

The sixth heat had a caution on Lap 1, with Sikes going for a spin. The heat didn’t get cleaner with Passer, Archibald, and Crowe going three-wide, causing Archibald to get into the frontstretch wall, before coming back down and into the side of Broom, sending Broom into the frontstretch grass. Matt Bentley picked up the win ahead of Passer, Archibald, Crowe, Walters, and Broom.

Frank Davey won the seventh heat ahead of Owen, Maltese, Burke, Boundy, McLean, and Lebland.

The eighth heat didn’t go as Grubb wanted, as he ran into mechanical issues on Lap 2. Justin Holmes went for the daily double ahead of Jo Lawrence, James, John Lavalle, and Brad Lavalle.

Come feature time, Justin Holmes started pole ahead of Brandon Passer, Coltin Everingham, Mike Bentley, Frank Davey, Gerrit Tiemersma, Dan Archibald, Tim Burke, Kris Lawrence, Carson Nagy, Marlie Owen, Herb Walters, Paul Boundy, Ethan Constable, Ken Grubb, Paul Maltese, Connor James, John Lavalle, Rob Richards, Howie Crowe, Jerry Broom, Ryan Semple, Neal LeBland, Travis McLean, Donny Beatty, Robbie Sikes, and Brad Lavalle.

Justin Holmes got the lead off the start ahead of Passer, Everingham, Archibald, Bentley, Lawrence, Davey, Nagy, Burke, Owen, Tiemersma, and Boundy. Tiemersma then got alongside Owen for 10th on Lap 5, with Grubb alongside Boundy for 12th. Tiemersma took the spot a lap later, with Grubb moving into 11th ahead of Constable, Owen, Walters, Boundy, Maltese, Richards, Semple, Crowe, James, and Sikes.

Tiemersma looked to continue moving forward, getting alongside Burke for ninth at Lap 13, and completing the pass a lap later. Semple also continued his climb, getting alongside Richards for 16th on Lap 16. There’d be battles up front, too, with Archibald alongside Everingham for third on Lap 17.

The race’s first caution came out on Lap 18 for McLean leaving the building, as Bentley climbed the turn one wall. With 33 laps to go, Holmes led Passer, Archibald, Lawrence, Everingham, Davey, Nagy, Tiemersma, Burke, Grubb, Constable, Owen, Walters, Boundy, Semple, and Richards.

The first attempt at a restart produced the race’s second caution with an incident involving Owen, Walters, Sikes, McLean, Lebland, and Maltese. The second attempt was clean with Holmes leading as Archibald jumped into second, with Passer and Lawrence side-by-side for third. Lawrence got the spot on Lap 20 ahead of Everingham, with Passer back to fifth ahead of Davey, Nagy, and Burke. Burke would then get by Nagy for seventh on Lap 23, as Walters headed down pit road.

Constable would run ninth ahead of Grubb, Tiemersma, and Bentley, with Tiemersma getting by Grubb at the halfway mark for 10th. Sikes would also spin at this time, but there’d be no caution as he kept it going. Semple would run 13th ahead of Boundy, Crowe, Richards, James, Bentley, Owen, Maltese, and Broom. Constable then got by Nagy for eighth on Lap 30, bringing Tiemersma through with him. Nagy now ran 10th ahead of Bentley, Semple, Grubb, Boundy.

Unfortunately, Everingham’s strong run came to an end as he headed down pit road with 14 laps to go with an overheating issue. Meanwhile, Lawrence would get by Archibald to move into second two laps later. Passer would run fourth ahead of Davey, and Constable.

Passer would get alongside Arrchibald for third, but they got stuck behind the lap car of Maltese. Passer would tag Maltese with 10 laps to go, causing him to spin, with Davey getting sideways behind them. Burke would then pile into Davey, collecting several others including Nagy, Constable, Tiemersma, Walters, Grubb, Bentley, Boundy, and Crowe. With 11 scheduled laps to go, Holmes led Lawrence, Passer, Nagy, Bentley, Semple, Crowe, Richards, Owen, Archibald, Grubb, Boundy, James, and Maltese.

The fifth caution would come out on the restart as Richards climbed the wall courtesy of contact with Crowe, collecting Owen in the process. The restart would see the white and green given, due to the race reaching it’s time limit.

Justin Holmes snagged the win ahead of Brandon Passer, Kris Lawrence, Matt Bentley, Ken Grubb, Ryan Semple, Carson Nagy, Dan Archibald, Rob Richards, and Paul Boundy. Paul Maltese finished 11th as the first car one lap down ahead of Travis McLean, Frank Davey, Ethan Constable, Gerrit Tiemersma, Tim Burke, Howie Crowe, Marlie Owen, Jerry Broom, Brad Lavalle, Robbie Sikes, John Lavalle, Donny Beatty, Coltin Everingham, Neal Lebland, and Herb Walters.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.