Flamboro Speedway

Matt Haufe Scores Frostoberfest Legend Victory at Flamboro

Taking the lead in the early stages, Matt Haufe held on to score the Ontario Legends Series Frostoberfest victory at Flamboro Speedway.

Kenny McNicol Jr. won the first heat ahead of Joe Adams, Bryan Batty, Wes Cuthbertson, Terry McCelland, Cory Richardson, and Dawson Drimmie.

Matt Haufe won the second heat ahead of Kevin Foisy, Brandon Thurlby, Adam Cuthbertson, Don Arnott, Rick Eades, Jeff Forsey, and Andrew Massey.

The third heat featured a quick yellow on Lap 1 when Hayden Brown spun Robin Jongen in turns one and two. Josh Indig picked up the win ahead of Ray Janisse, Jongen, Shane Pollock, Brown, Mike Westwood, and Joe Sherman.

Wes Cuthbertson won the fourth heat ahead of McNicol, McCelland, Adams, Batty, Richardson, and Jeremy Coulter.

Matt Haufe went for the daily double ahead of Foisy, Adam Cuthbertson, Thurlby, Massey, Eades, Forsey, and Arnott.

Robin Jongen won the sixth heat ahead of Indig, Janisse, Brown, Westwood, Sherman, and Paul Perik.0

A b-main feature would be used to set the tail of the field for the feature. Bryan Batty took the initial lead ahead of McCelland, Brown, Richardson, Eades, and Arnott as Sherman and Massey battled for seventh ahead of Coulter. Massey got the spot on Lap 4, with Perik getting alongside Coulter for eighth. Unfortunately, this is when cars began to have issues as McCelland slowed on Lap 6, followed by Perik a lap later.

Bryan Batty picked up the win ahead of Hyden Brown, Cory Richardson, Rick Eades, Don Arnott, Andrew Massey, Jeremy Coulter, Jeff Forsey, Joe Sherman, Howard Bentley, Paul Perik, and Terry McCelland.

Come feature time, Kevin Foisy started pole ahead of Robin Jongen, Kenny McNicol, Josh Indig, Matt Haufe, Ray Janisse, Wes Cuthbertson, Brandon Thurlby, Adam Cuthbertson, Joe Adams, Shane Pollock, Dawson Drimmie, Bryan Batty, Hyden Brown, Cory Richardson, Rick Eades, Don Arnott, Andrew Massey, Jeremy Coulter, Jeff Forsey, Joe Sherman, Paul Perik, Terry McCelland, Mike Westwood, and Howard Bentley.

The race did not open on a good note, with McCelland blowing the motor through turns one and two, laying down a trail of fluid in the process. After that was cleaned up, the second attempt to start the race would see a messy restart with cars going everywhere, including Brown driving over Drimmie’s fender. The third attempt was clean with Foisy taking the early advantage as Haufe got alongside McNicol for second. However, the third caution came out on Lap 3 for Westwood getting into the turn one and two wall.

Foisy got a good restart ahead of Haufe, with Jongen alongside McNicol for third. McNicol held onto the spot, with Indig rounding out the top-five. Matt Haufe would then make his way into the lead on Lap 5 ahead of Foisy, with Jongen back alongside McNicol for third ahead of Indig and Cuthbertson. The battle was cut short as the fourth caution came out on Lap 8 for Coulter spinning in turn one, followed by Drimmie spinning in turn two, with Forsey catching a piece.

Haufe would get a good restart ahead of Foisy and McNicol, with Jongen getting alongside McNicol for third on Lap 11 as Batty slowed with a problem. Jongen took the third spot a lap later, with McNicol fourth ahead of Adam Cuthbertson as Westwood pulled off the track. Indig ran fifth ahead of Adams, Thurlby, Janisse, Wes Cuthbertson, Richardson, and Massey, with Eades and Pollock side-by-side for 12th ahead of Arnott.

The field would end up strung out, weaving through lap cars, with the only pass in the final laps in the top-five happening when Indig made his way by Adam Cuthbertson for fifth with two laps to go. The final lap wasn’t without drama, though, as Thurlby and Janisse would get together in turn two.

Matt Haufe got the win ahead of Kevin Foisy, Robin Jongen, Kenny McNicol, Josh Indig, Adam Cuthbertson, Joe Adams, Wesley Cuthbertson, Brandon Thurlby, Andrew Massey, Cory Richardson, Shane Pollock, Ray Janisse, Rick Eades, Dawson Drimmie, Don Arnott, Howard Bentley, Jeff Forsey, Hayden Brown, Joe Sherman, Bryan Batty, Terry McCelland, Mike Westwood, Jeremy Coulter, Paul Perik, and Parker Traves.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.