mini stocks

Tyler Seaboyer Scores Second Mini Stock Feature Victory

For the second time in his career, Tyler Seaboyer scored the victory in the Signs of Innovation Mini Stock feature at Sunset Speedway.

Dylan Holmes won the first heat ahead of Tyler Seaboyer, Stefan Woyslaw, Ken Townsend, Bob Phinnemore, Curtis Stewart, and Jason D’Antimo. Unfortunately, D’Antimo suffered a problem with the right front mid-race.

Daniel Montanari won the second heat ahead of Alex Hastie, Chandler Bos, Samantha Shaw, Cameron McGlashan, Peter Wakeling, and the 88.

Dylan Holmes went for the daily double ahead of Seaboyer, Phinnemore, Woyslaw, Stewart, Townsend, and D’Antimo.

Daniel Montanari went for the daily double ahead of Shaw, Hastie, Wakeling, Bos, McGlashan, and the 88 – all this while McGlashan did the sideways slide through turn four.

Come feature time, Peter Wakeling started pole ahead of Cameron McGlashan, Bob Phinnemore, Curtis Stewart, Chandler Bos, Tyler Seaboyer, Alex Hastie, Stefan Woyslaw, Samantha Shaw, Daniel Montanari, Dylan Holmes, Jason D’Antimo, the 88, and Ken Townsend.

The race didn’t start out smoothly as Montanari got up into the turn four wall on the opening lap, while Woyslaw was leaking fuel. Both drivers got the necessary repairs made to return to the field for the next attempt. That didn’t go smoothly either with Bos and Wakelin getting together on the frontstretch while three-wide with Hastie, causing Wakeling to go around for the spin.

The third attempt went smoothly with McGlashan and Stewart side-by-side for the lead as Seaboyer made his way up to third. McGlashan would get the initial lead, but Seaboyer would get right alongside on Lap 3 to challenge for the spot. Behind them, Shaw got alongside Stewart for third on Lap 4, with Hastie and Phinnnemore side-by-side for fifth. That almost didn’t work out with Holmes tagging the back of Hastie the next lap by.

Seaboyer would take the top spot on Lap 6 ahead of McGlashan as Stewart and Shaw continued to battle for third ahead of Phinnemore, Holmes, and Woyslaw. Shaw got the third spot on Lap 8, with Phinnemore getting alongside Stewart for fourth. Stewart would get the spot initially, but it’d be Holmes getting by Phinnemore, before getting by Stewart on Lap 10 to take fourth as Wakeling headed down pit road, done for the event.

With 11 laps on the board, Seaboyer led ahead of McGlashan, Shaw, Holmes, Stewart, Phinnemore, Montanari, Woyslaw and Hastie. Bos would get alongside Hastie on Lap 12 for ninth, with Woyslaw getting alongside Montanari a lap later for seventh. Woyslaw was unable to complete the pass, with Montanari instead getting alongside Phinnemore for sixth.

Further up ahead, Holmes got alongside Shaw for third on Lap 15 ahead of Stewart, Montanari and Phinnemore as Woyslaw and Hastie battled for eighth. Montanari got by Stewart for fifth on Lap 17, with Holmes getting by Shaw a lap later for third.

Holmes continued to move forward, getting alongside McGlashan for second with five laps to go, completing the pass a lap later. Shaw would try to follow through, but was unable to. Instead, Montanari would get by her for fourth, followed by a pass on McGlashan to move into third.

Tyler Seaboyer cruised to win ahead of all the battles, with Dylan Holmes finishing second followed by Daniel Montanari, Cameron McGlashan, Samantha Shaw, Bob Phinnemore, Stefan Woyslaw, Chandler Bos, Jason D’Antimo, Alex Hastie, Ken Townsend, and the 88.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.