Kawartha Speedway

Corey Strawn Scores Bone Stock Feature at Kawartha Speedway

With a mid-way invert of the field, the bone stock feature was interesting from beginning to the end as Corey Strawn held off Ryan Babin for the win.

Following a pre-race draw for starting position, Bryan Knox started on pole ahead of Bryan Sudsbury, Ryan Babin, Chris Tubman, Ben Gruntz, Pops MacDonald, Jassen Whyte, Brad Lavelle, Ryan Oosterholt, Corey Strawn, Rob Crick, Kyle Fetterly, and Steve McNevin.

The initial start didn’t go smoothly as Sudsbury went around on the frontstretch following contact from behind, with MacDoanld getting collected in the process. This would mark the end of the feature for Whyte, as well.

Ryan Babin got the lead on the restart ahead of Tubman, as Strawn and Gruntz battled for third. Strawn got the position on Lap 2 ahead of Gruntz, Oosterholt, Crick, and Fetterly as Lavelle and MacDonald battled for eighth. Fetterly continued to move forward, passing Crick for sixth at Lap 4, with MacDonald following him through a lap later. Crick now ran eighth ahead of McNevin, Lavelle, and Knox.

Strawn would continue to move forward, passing Tubman for second with eight laps on the board. Tubman now ran third ahead of Gruntz, with Oosterholt getting alongside him for fourth a lap later. Behind them, Fetterly ran sixth ahead of MacDonald, Crick, McNevin, Lavelle, and Knox. Gruntz was able to keep the spot, with Fetterly getting by Oosterholt for fifth at Lap 12.

The mid-race caution would come out at Lap 15, with the field stopping on the frontstretch. Under the red flag, Babin drew the invert for the restart – which would be five. That’d give Fetterly the lead ahead of Gruntz, Tubman, Strawn, Babin, Oosterholt, Crick, McNevin, Lavelle, and Knox.

Fetterly got a good restart as Tubman and Gruntz battled for second ahead of Strawn. Tubman got the spot on Lap 17, with Strawn getting alongside Gruntz for third. The pair would then take Tubman three-wide for second a lap later, with Strawn getting the spot, as Babin went three-wide with Tubman and Grunt for third. It’d be Babin taking third at Lap 19 ahead of Tubman and Gruntz.

With 10 laps to go, Fetterly held the lead ahead of Strawn, Babin, Tubman, Gruntz and Oosterholt as McNevin pulled off the track. Strawn would get alongside Fetterly for the lead with eight laps to go, taking the spot a lap later. Babin moved into second on Lap 24, bumping Fetterly back to third ahead of Tubman, Gruntz, Oosterholt, Crick, Lavelle, and Knox.

In the closing stages of the feature, Babin was able to track down Strawn for the lead, getting alongside with three laps to go. The pair battled and back forth over the last couple of laps, but it’d be Corey Strawn picked up the win just ahead of Ryan Babin. Kyle Fetterly finished third, followed by Chris Tubman, Ben Gruntz, Ryan Oosterholt, Rob Crick, Brad Lavelle, and Bryan Knox.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.