Kawartha Speedway

John Harper Holds off McLean for Kawartha Victory

Gary McLean would try left, right, and center to get by John Harper in the final stages at Kawartha Speedway, but was unable to pass him as Harper picked up the win on Friday night.

Anthony DiBello won the first heat in his OSCAAR debut ahead of John Harper, Gary Elliott, Mike Hearty, Jeff Showler, Jase Cornell, and Josh Gruntz.

Chad Strawn won the second heat ahead of Gary McLean, Cory Horner, Chris Milwain, Jason Keen, and Bob Franks.

Kelly Balson won the third heat ahead of Jason Bowden, Dale Reinhart, Duane Cinnamon, Craig Scott, and Wally Wilson.

Come feature time, it’d be John Harper grabbing the early advantage with Jason Bowden second ahead of Anthony DiBello and Gary McLean, as Cory Horner and Kelly Balson battled for fifth, with Balson getting the spot on Lap 3.

Balson continued to move forward, getting by McLean for fourth, before getting alongside DiBello for second. Behind them, McLean ran fourth ahead of Horner, Chris Milwain, Dale Reinhart, Mike Hearty, Gary Elliott, Duane Cinnamon, Jason Keen, and Jase Cornell.

While Harper continued to lead, Balson was able to clear DiBello, passing Bowden to move into second at Lap 9. DiBello moved up into third a lap later, with Bowden and McLean rounding out the top-five. Horner continued to run sixth ahead of Milwain, Reinhart, Hearty, Elliott, and Cinnamon. McLean’s progress also continued moving forward, with him moving into fourth at Lap 14. Horner would then get alongside Bowden for fifth.

Back at the front, Balson was able to track down Harper for the lead, looking for a way by. They’d get tied up behind Bob Franks, with the pair remaining side-by-side as they went to put him a lap down. Contact would take place in the process between Harper and Balson, with Balson going around in turns one and two.

John Harper would get a good restart with McLean up into second ahead of Horner, as Milwain and Bowden battled for fourth ahead of Hearty and Reinhart side-by-side for sixth. Milwain would take the fourth spot, with Hearty moving up into sixth a lap later.

At the front of the field, Gary McLean would look high and low on Harper, looking for any lane or opportunity to get by, but John Harper kept the street blocked, leading the rest of the way en route to victory lane. Cory Horner finished third, followed by Chris Milwain and Jason Bowden. Mike Hearty finished sixth, followed by Dale Reinhart, Jason Keen, Anthony DiBello, and Duane Cinnamon. Jase Cornell finished 11th, followed by Bob Franks, Josh Gruntz, Jeff Showler, Kelly Balson, Craig Scott, and Wally Wilson.

The OSCAAR Modifieds will be back in action at Jukasa Motor Speedway on June 16 alongside the OSCAAR Hot Rod Series and NASCAR Pinty’s Series. Event details are located at https://www.jukasamotorspeedway.com/events/event/june-16/.

Fans are encouraged to check out the OSCAAR website at http://www.oscaar.ca, while following the series across social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.