Great Lakes Concrete Series

Treyten Lapcevich Out-Battles Tiemersma to Sunset Speedway Victory Lane

In a battle that saw bumps traded and right down to the wire, it’d be Treyten Lapcevich scoring the St. Onge Recreation Super Stock feature victory at Sunset Speedway.

Treyten Lapcevich won the first heat ahead of Tom Walters, Dustyn Mombourqutte, Kenny McNicol, Paul Boundy, Bradnon Passer, Ethan Constable, Robbie Sikes, and Brandon Feeney.

Coltin Everingham won the second heat ahead of Jo Lawrence, Stefan Semeraro, Herb Walters, Ken Grubb, Ryan Semple, Carson Nagy, Matt Bentley, and Jake Zevenbergen.

Gerrit Tiemersma won the third heat ahead of Dave Doucette, Brandon McConnell, Vaughn Lawrence, Frank Davey, Todd Davenport, Nick Tooley, and William Hughes.

Treyten Lapcevich went for the daily double ahead of McNicol, Tom Walters, Passer, Mombourquette, Sikes, Feeney, and Boundy.

Ryan Semple won the fifth heat ahead of Herb Walters, Zevenbergen, Semeraro, Grubb, Everingham, Bentley, Lawrence, and Nagy.

Brandon McConnell won the sixth heat ahead of Doucette, Lawrence, Tiemersma, Davey, Davenport, Tooley, and Hughes.

With more than enough for a full field on the property, a last chance qualifier was run to determine who’d make the big show. It didn’t go smoothly, as Feeney and Hughes would tangle on the frontstretch, resulting in Feeney getting a piece of the wall. At the same time, Constable went for a spin in turn one. Matt Bentley picked up the win ahead of Tooley, Nagy, Boundy, Constable, and Sikes.

Come feature time, Treyten Lapcevich would lead the field to green ahead of Brandon McConnell, Gerrit Tiemersma, Tom Walters, Kenny McNicol, Dave Doucette, Herb Walters, Vaughn Lawrence, Coltin Everingham, Stefan Semeraro, Ryan Semple, Dustyn Mombourquette, Jo Lawrence, Ken Grubb, Frank Davey, Brandon Passer, Todd Davenport, Jake Zevenbergen, Matt Bentley, Nick Tooley, Carson Nagy, Paul Boundy, Ethan Constable, and Robbie Sikes.

Treyten Lapcevich would take the lead on the initial green ahead of McConnell, with Tiemersma and Tom Walters side-by-side for third. However, there’d be a caution for debris.

Lapcevich got a good restart to hold serve ahead of McConnell, with Tiemersma and Walters once again side-by-side for third ahead of Doucette and McNicol. Behind them, Herb Walters and Lawrence ran side-by-side for seventh. Walters got the spot on Lap 3, bringing Everingham through with him a lap later, to bump Vaughn Lawrence back to ninth ahead of Semple.

At the front of the field, Gerritt Tiemersma and Tom Walters ran third and fourth on Lap 5, with Doucette and McNicol rounding out the top-six. Doucette then got alongside Walters at Lap 6, while Herb Walters got alongside McNicol. Everingham would run eighth ahead of Lawrence and Semple. Doucette got the fifth spot on Lap 8, with Herb Walters getting seventh at the same time. Everingham would move up into eighth ahead of McNicol and Semple.

Herb Walters would then get alongside Tom Walters for fifth at Lap 9, completing the pass a lap later. Everingham looked to follow him through at Lap 11, with Semple up to eighth. Notably, Tooley’s made an unscheduled green flag pit stop at Lap 13, while Sikes brought out the yellow flag for slowing with a flat tire. With 38 laps to go, Lapcevich led McConnell, Tiemersma, Doucette, Herb Walters, Everingham, Tom Walters, Semple, Semeraro, Lawrence, McNicol, Passer, Mombourquette, Davey, Zevenbergen, Constable, and Davenport.

Lapcevich got a good restart to keep the lead as Tiemersma and McConnell battled for second. Tiemersma would get the spot on Lap 16 ahead of McConnell, Doucette, and Herb Walters as Semple and Everingham battled for sixth.

Behind them, Semeraro ran eighth ahead of Tom Walters and Vaughn Lawrence, with Tooley making another green flag trip down pit road. Doucette would then get alongside McConnell for third at Lap 19, while Herb Walters, Semple, and Everingham went three-wide for fifth.

Semple would come out on top ahead of Everingham, as contact happened between Herb Walters and Tom Walters in turn two to draw the third yellow flag. With 32 laps to go, Lapcevich led Tiemersma, McConnell, Doucette, Semple, Everingham, Semeraro, Vaughn Lawrence, Passer, McNicol, Mombourquette, Constable, Davey, Davenport, Jo Lawrence, Zevenbergen and Nagy.

Lapcevich got another good restart to keep the lead ahead of Tiemersma, with Doucette and McConnell side-by-side for third. Doucette got the spot on Lap 22 ahead of McConnell, Semple and Everingham. Semeraro then got alongside Everingham for sixth at Lap 23, completing the pass a lap later, with Passer looking to follow him through.

Semple then got alongside McConnell for fourth at the halfway mark, completing the pass two laps later as Boundy made his way down pit road. Semeraro would then move up into fifth ahead of McConnell, challenging Semple for fourth at Lap 29. Behind them, Passer got alongside McConnell for sixth, as Everingham and Constable battled for eighth. Passer would clear McConnell on Lap 32 for sixth, with Constable moving up into eighth.

At the front of the field, Tiemersma was able to get alongside Lapcevich for the top spot at Lap 33, completing the pass a lap later. The caution would then fly, though, as McConnell would spin off of turn four. Under the yellow flag, Vaughn Lawrence made his way down pit road. With 16 laps to go, Tiemersma led Lapcevich, Doucette, Semple, Semeraro, Passer, Constable, Everingham, McNicol, Jo Lawrence, Mombourquette, Herb Walters, Tom Walters, Bentley, and Zevenbergen.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Lapcevich and Tiemersma as Semple moved into third ahead of Doucette, with Semeraro and Passer side-by-side for fifth. Semeraro would complete the pass on Lap 37, getting alongside Doucette for fourth. Their battle would end up being for third as Semple pulled off the track on Lap 38 with a mechanical problem.

At the front of the field, Lapcevich and Tiemersma continued to battle side-by-side with Semeraro now up to third ahead of Doucette, as Constable and Passer ran side-by-side for fifth. Lapcevich would snag the top spot to himself with nine laps to go, as Semeraro ran third ahead of Constable, Doucette, Everingham, and Passer.

Everingham would get alongside Doucette for fifth on Lap 43, as Passer ran seventh ahead of Herb Walters, Jo Lawrence, McNicol, Bentley, McConnell, and Tom Walters. Everingham was able to snag the spot with four laps to go, with Passer and Herb Walters following him through.

Gerrit Tiemersma would try everything he had on Treyten Lapcevich, even tagging the back bumper of the No. 32 a couple times off of the corner. However, it wouldn’t be enough as Treyten Lapcevich scored the victory, with Stefan Semeraro sneaking in for second ahead of Gerrit Tiemersma, Coltin Everingham, and Brandon Passer. Herb Walters finished sixth, followed by Dave Doucette, Kenny McNicol, Jo Lawrence, and Brandon McConnell. Matt Bentley finished 11th, followed by Tom Walters, Dustyn Mombourquette, Jake Zevenbergen, Carson Nagy, Todd Davenport, Frank Davey, Robbie Sikes, Ethan Constable, and Paul Boundy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.