Race Reports

Dave Doucette Returns to Victory Lane at Sunset Speedway

After stepping away from racing for awhile, Dave Doucette made his return in style at Sunset Speedway on Saturday night with a trip to victory lane.

Dustyn Mombourquette won the first heat ahead of Justin Holmes, Mike Weeda, Coltin Everingham, Johnny Morrison, Matt Bentley, Kyle Fetterly, and Brandon Feeney.

Brandon Passer won the second heat ahead of Dave Doucette, Gerrit Tiemersma, Miles Tyson, Nick Tooley, Stefan Semeraro, and Bobby Mercer.

Matt Bentley won the third heat ahead of Morrison, Everingham, Holmes, Mombourquette, Feeney, and Fetterly.

Brandon Passer went for the daily double ahead of Doucette, Tiemersma, Tyson, Tooley, and Mercer.

Come feature time, it’d be Justin Holmes starting on pole ahead of Dustyn Mombourquette, Dave Doucette, Brandon Passer, Gerrit Tiemersma, Coltin Everingham, Johnny Morrison, Matt Bentley, Miles Tyson, Mike Weeda, Stefan Semeraro, Peter Wakeling, Brandon Feeney, Nick Tooley, and Bobby Mercer.

The feature didn’t start off smoothly, with Morrison going for the spin in turn three off the drop of the green flag.

The second attempt to start the race went smoothly with Mombourquette and Holmes battling for the lead. Mombourquette got the spot on Lap 3 ahead of Holmes, with Doucette racing Passer for third. Doucette then got alongside Holmes for second on Lap 4, passing him a lap later. Holmes now ran third as Tooley headed down pit road with a mechanical problem.

With eight laps on the board, Mombourquette led Doucette, Holmes, Tiemersma, Passer and Everingham. Tiemersma’s strong early run came to an end on Lap 9, when he went around for the spin in turn two for the second caution.

Doucette got a good restart to take the lead ahead of Mombourquette and Everingham, as Holmes battled Semeraro for fourth. Semeraro got the spot on Lap 12, with Tyson following him through a lap later. Morrison was the next to look for the spot on Holmes, but the caution would fly for Mercer going around in turn two.

With 16 laps to go, Doucette led Mombourquette, Everingham, Semeraro, Tyson, Holmes, Morrison, Weeda, Passer, Tiemesrma, Bentley, Feeney and Mercer.

Doucette got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Mombourquette, Everingham and Semeraro, with Holmes and Tyson side-by-side for fifth. Holmes would get the spot on Lap 17, with Semeraro’s attempt to pass Everingham not working out initially on Lap 19. However, he got the job done two laps later to take the third spot.

Everingham now ran fourth as Holmes and Tyson battled for fifth. Holmes got the spot on Lap 22, with Passer following him through. Passer then got alongside Holmes for fifth, as Tiemersma got alongside Tyson for seventh. There’d be contact, with Tyson going around in turn two with six laps to go.

Dave Doucette led the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory ahead of Dustyn Mombourquette, with Coltin Everingham passing Stefan Semeraro coming to the line for third. Brandon Passer finished fifth, followed by Justin Holmes, Mike Weeda, Johnny Morrison, Matt Bentley, Miles Tyson, and Bobby Mercer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.