Ontario Legend Series

Kevin Foisy Edges Tyson in Ontario Legends Velocity 250 Feature at Sunset Speedway

In one of the closest finishes of the season, Kevin Foisy would edge Miles Tyson by half a car to win the Ontario Legends Series Velocity 250 feature at Sunset Speedway.

Matt Haufe won the first heat ahead of Miles Tyson, Parker Traves, Joe Adams, Don Arnott, Rick Eades, Andrew McFadden, Jeff Drimmie, and Shawn Murray.

Dave Riopelle won the second heat ahead of Jamie Riberdy, Terry McCelland, Wes Cuthbertson, Dawson Drimmie, Glen Lloyd, Cory Richardson, and Joe Sherman.

Adam Cuthbertson won the third heat ahead of Kevin Foisy, Cole McFadden, Mike Gettliffe, Paul Pierik, Jamie McArthur, Andre Fiorini, and Bill Mason.

Matt Haufe went for the daily double ahead of Tyson, Traves, Eades, Arnott, Adams, Andrew McFadden, and Jeff Drimmie.

The fifth heat featured a quick caution when Richardson spun, followed by another for a quick spin by Sherman. Riopelle went for the daily double ahead of Riberdy, Wes Cuthbertson, McCelland, Dawson Drimmie, and Lloyd.

Kevin Foisy won the sixth heat ahead of Cole McFadden, Gettliffe, Adam Cuthbertson, Pierik, McArthur, Mason, and Fiorini.

Come feature time, Jamie Riberdy jumped out to the early lead as Kevin Foisy and Miles Tyson battled for second. Foisy got the spot on Lap 3, getting alongside Riberdy a lap later. Foisy would then take the top spot on Lap 5, with Haufe up to third ahead of Tyson, Adam Cuthbertson, Dave Riopelle, Cole McFadden, Parker Traves, and Mike Gettliffe.

Haufe continued to move forward, getting alongside Riberdy for second, and passing him on Lap 9. Tyson continued to run fourth ahead of Cuthbertson, Riopelle, McFadden, Traves, Terry McCelland, Wes Cuthbertson, Joe Adams, and Pauk Pierik as Gettliffe headed down pit road on Lap 13.

For the most part, the feature ran single-file as the leaders weaved their way through lap traffic. There were still some battles to watch, though, with McFadden and Traves both passing Riopelle for sixth and seventh respectively at Lap 18. The caution then flew two laps later for Wes Cuthbertson and Glenn Lloyd coming together on the frontstretch.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Miles Tyson and Kevin Foisy, with Matt Haufe right on their tails. The pair remained side-by-side through the final laps, with Kevin Foisy just beating Miles Tyson by an edge for the feature victory as Matt Haufe rounded out the top-three. Parker Traves finished fourth, followed by Dave Riopelle, Adam Cuthbertson, Jamie Riberdy, Cole McFadden, Terry McCelland, and Joe Adams.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.