Race Reports

Gord Shepherd Dominates Late Model Feature at Sunset Speedway

Continuing to pad his advantage atop of the points standings, Gord Shepherd out-battled Nick Goetz to score the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature victory at Sunset Speedway on Saturday night.

Shepherd started on pole ahead of Nick Goetz, Chris Morrow, Rick Spencer-Walt, and Lane Zardo. Jordan Latimer qualified sixth, followed by Danny Benedict, Ron Quesnelle, Mike Wilkinson, and Taylor Holdaway. Travis Hallyburton started 11th, followed by Paul Maltese, Ernie Fumerton, Thayne Hallyburton and Brittney Gresel. Kendra Adams qualified 16th, followed by Billy Zardo, Al Inglis, and Jo Lawrence.

Shepherd and Goetz would battle side-by-side in the early stages, with Morrow and Spencer-Walt side-by-side for third, as Lane Zardo and Latimer battled for fifth. Morrow would clear Spencer-Walt on Lap 4, with Zardo running fifth ahead of Latimer and Benedict, as Quesnelle and Holdaway ran side-by-side for eighth.

Holdaway got the spot on Lap 7, with Maltese trying to follow him through but unable to. Behind Maltese, Thayne Hallyburton ran 11th ahead of Wilkinson, Travis Hallyburton, Fumerton,  Gresel, Adams and Inglis. Unfortunately, Billy Zardo ran into problems, heading down pit road on Lap 10.

Shepherd would clear Goetz for the top spot on Lap 11, with Morrow getting alongside Goetz next for second ahead of Spencer-Walt, Lane Zardo, and Latimer. Latimer’s run, though, came to an end on Lap 15 as he headed down pit road with a mechanical problem.

This allowed Benedict to move into sixth ahead of Holdaway, Quesnelle, Maltese, Thayne Hallyburton, Wilkinson and Travis Hallyburton. While Morrow and Goetz continued to run side-by-side, Benedict was able to get alongside Zardo for fifth on Lap 18, with the pair trading bump taps a lap later amongst their battle.

With 22 laps on the board, Shepherd continued to lead ahead of Goetz, Morrow, Spencer-Walt, and Benedict. Zardo ran sixth ahead of Holdaway, Quesnelle, Maltese, and Thayne Hallyburton. Spencer-Walt would get by Morrow for third with seven laps to go, with Holdaway getting alongside Zardo two laps later. The pair battled side-by-side for a bit, with Holdaway taking sixth on Lap 33, with Quesnelle looking to follow him through.

Gord Shepherd led the rest of the way ahead of Nick Goetz, Rick Spencer-Walt, Chris Morrow, and Danny Benedict.  Taylor Holdaway finished sixth ahead of Ron Quesnelle, Lane Zardo, Paul Maltese, and Thayne Hallyburton. Travis Hallyburton placed 11th, followed by Mike Wilkinson, Ernie Fumerton, Kendra Adams, Brittney Gresel, Al Inglis, Jordan Latimer, Billy Zardo, and Jo Lawrence.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.