mini stocks

Eric Yorke Scores Sunset Speedway Mini Stock Feature Victory

As Eric Yorke chases glory at the North American level, sitting on top of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series standings at times this year, he added another trophy to the case in winning Saturday night’s Signs of Innovation Mini Stock feature at Sunset Speedway.

The evening did not start off smoothly, though as a first lap attempt in the first heat at three-wide between Pat MacDonald, Daniel Montanari and Wendy Adams saw all three make contact going into turn three. The caution then flew for a second time on lap 3, with Doug Wilman going around out of the lead. Cameron McGlashan picked up the victory in a borrowed ride after breaking his oil pump in practice ahead of Joe Dunlop, Chance Isherwood, Wilman, Lisa DeLeeuw, and Eric Rainey.

Andy Kamrath won the second qualifier ahead of Cory Young, Kyle Fetterly, Ken Townsend, Josh Bullen, Randi Seguin, Dylan Holmes, Thomas Dunn, and Trevor Hemingway.

Nic Montanari was victorious in the third heat ahead of Eric Yorke, Stefan Woyslaw, Chandler Bos, Curtis Stewart, Amanda Shave, Peter Wakeling, and Jacob Gustafson.

Daniel Montanari rebounded from his first heat crash to win the fourth qualifier ahead of Dunlop, Wilman, MacDonald, Isherwood, DeLeeuw, McGlashan, and Rainey.

Andy Kamrath went for the daily double ahead of Young, Fetterly, Townsend, Seguin, Bullen, Hemingway, Holmes, and Adams.

Eric Yorke won the final heat ahead of Nic Montanari, Woyslaw, Bos, Stewart, Shave, Wakeling, and Gustafson.

Following qualifying, it’d be Chandler Bos on pole ahead of Amanda Shave, Josh Bullen, Lisa DeLeeuw, and Joe Dunlop. Randi Seguin started sixth ahead of Doug Wilman, Cory Young, Cameron McGlashan, and Nic Montanari. Kyle Fetterly qualified 11th, followed by Eric Yorke, Peter Wakeling, Dylan Holmes, and Trevor Hemingway.

Pat MacDonald started 16th, followed by Daniel Montanari, Andy Kamrath, Stefan Woyslaw, and Chance Isherwood. Ken Townsend qualified 21st, followed by Curtis Stewart, Jacob Gustafson, Eric Rainey, and Wendy Adams.

It didn’t take long for the action to start, with the first caution flying on Lap 1 for Hemingway going around in turn two.

The second attempt to being the event went cleanly, with Josh Bullen grabbing the early lead as Dunlop and Young battled for second ahead of Bos and Wilman, with McGlashan side-by-side with DeLeeuw for sixth. Yorke then snuck by them both three-wide on Lap 3, taking over the sixth spot.

Young was able to clear Dunlop for the runner-up position on Lap 4, with Bos rounding out the top-five. Yorke would get by Bos for the spot a lap later, but the caution flew at the same time for Holmes and Stewart going around in turn two.

With 21 laps to go, Bullen led Young, Dunlop, Yorke, Bos, Wilman, Fetterly, Kamrath, McGlashan, and Seguin. Woyslaw ran 11th, followed by DeLeeuw, Daniel Montanari, Townsend, Nic Montanari, MacDonald, Isherwood, Wakeling, Gustafson and Adams. Hemingway ran 21st, followed by Holmes, Rainey and Stewart.

Young got a good restart to grab the lead with Yorke moving into second ahead of Bullen. Bullen continued to fall back as he was passed by Kamrath for third on Lap 7. Yorke continued his climb, getting alongside Young for the lead on Lap 9. He would clear him a lap later, as the caution flew for Wilman spinning in turn two.

With 16 laps to go, Yorke now led ahead of Young, Kamrath, Bullen, Dunlop, Fetterly, Daniel Montanari, Seguin, Nic Montanari, and Woyslaw. Ken Townsend ran 11th, followed by McGlashan, DeLeeuw, Bos, Isherwood, and Hemingway.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Yorke and Young, with Yorke taking the top spot on Lap 11 as Kamrath moved into second a lap later. Young now ran third, as Daniel Montanari got alongside Fetterly for fourth at the halfway mark. Montanari got the spot on Lap 13, bringing his brother Nic Montanari through as Bullen rounded out the top-seven.

With 10 laps to go, Yorke led Kamrath, Young, Daniel Montanari, Nic Montanari, Fetterly, and Bullen. Daniel Montanari continued to move forward, passing Young for third on Lap 17, followed by a pass on Kamrath for second two laps later. Kamrath now ran third ahead of Nic Montanari with Young back up to fifth. Nic Montanari then got alongside Kamrath for third, passing him with two laps to go.

Daniel Montanari was able to track down Eric Yorke for the lead, but was not able to make the pass as the pair weaved through lap traffic. Eric Yorke got the victory ahead of Daniel Montanari, Nic Montanari, Andy Kamrath, and Cory Young. Kyle Fetterly finished sixth, followed by Josh Bullen, Randi Seguin, Joe Dunlop, and Ken Townsend.

Chance Isherwood placed 11th, followed by Stefan Woyslaw, Cameron McGlashan, Lisa DeLeeuw, and Chandler Bos. Trevor Hemingway finished 16th, followed by Thomas Dunn, Doug Wilman, Curtis Stewart, and Dylan Holmes. Jacob Gustafson placed 21st, followed by Peter Wakeling, Eric Rainey, Pat MacDonald, and Amanda Shave.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.