mini stocks

Warren Paxton Returns to Sunset Speedway Victory Lane

Making his return to Sunset Speedway on Saturday night, Warren Paxton scored the victory in the Signs of Innovation Mini Stock feature.

Warren Paxton won the first heat ahead of Daniel Montanari, Charlie Smith, Josh Bullen, Dylan Holmes, Chandler Bos, Amanda Shave and Wendy Adams. There was a quick caution, notably, for Curtis Stewart going up in smoke as a result of a cut oil line.

Eric Yorke won the second heat ahead of Nic Monanari, Andy Kamrath, Lisa DeLeeuw, Joe Dunlop, Pat MacDonald, Doug Wilman, Eric Rainey and Trevor Seaboyer.

The third heat featured a quick caution for an incident in turn two involving Peter Wakeling and Bob Phinnemore. Cameron McGlashan picked up the win ahead of Ken Townsend, Stefan Woyslaw, Mike Robinson Jr., Randi Seguin, Phinnemore, Trevor Hemingway and Taylor Thring.

Daniel Montanari won the fourth heat ahead of Paxton, Smith, Bullen, Bos, Holmes, Shave, Adams and Dave Middel.

The fifth heat had a pair of cautions, with the first coming out on Lap 3 for Wilman spinning in turn three. Then with three laps to go, MacDonald went around in turn two. Nic Monanari picked up the victory ahead of Yorke, Kamrath, Dunlop, DeLeeuw, Wilman, Rainey and Seaboyer.

The sixth heat started off in a big way, with Phinnemore making hard contact with the turn four wall on Lap 2. Mike Robinson Jr. picked up the win ahead of Woyslaw, Townsend, Seguin, Hemingway, Wakeling and Thring. Notably, McGlashan failed to make a lap as a result of a throttle linkage issue.

Come feature time, Josh Bullen started pole ahead of Randi Seguin, Lisa DeLeeuw, Charlie Smith, Mike Robinson Jr., Stefan Woyslaw, Ken Townsend, Nic Montanari, Eric Yorke and Warren Paxton. Andy Kamrath started 11th, followed by Daniel Montanari, Trevor Seaboyer, Dylan Holmes, Trevor Hemingway, Eric Rainey, Chandler Bos, Cameron McGlashan, Wendy Adams and Doug Wilman. Joe Dunlop started 21st, followed by Amanda Shave, Curtis Stewart, Taylor Thring and Dave Middel.

Bullen grabbed the early lead ahead of Smith, with Seguin and Woyslaw side-by-side for third. However, their battle was short lived with Daniel Montanari bringing out the caution on the second lap for contact with the turn four wall. With just one lap on the board, Bullen led Smith, Seguin, Woyslaw, Nic Montanari, Paxton, DeLeeuw, Robinson Jr., Yorke, Townsend, Kamrath, Seaboyer, Hemingway, Bos, Wakeling, McGlashan, Wilman, Rainey and Dunlop.

Smith got a good restart to grab the lead ahead of Bullen and Paxton. Paxton then got alongside Bullen for second on Lap 3, completing the pass a lap later. Behind them, Robinson Jr. ran fourth, with Nic Montanari getting alongside for the position on Lap 5. Monanari was unable to complete the pass, with Robinson Jr. instead getting alongside Bullen for third.

Robinson Jr. took the third spot on Lap 7, bringing Montanari and Yorke through with him. Yorke then got alongside Montanari for fourth at Lap 7, with Kamrath side-by-side with Bullen a lap later. Kamrath took the sixth spot on Lap 9 ahead of Bullen, Woyslaw and Townsend as Seguin and McGlashan battled for 10th.

At the front of the field, Paxton tracked down Smith for the top spot, getting alongside him for the lead on Lap 11. Paxton would then take the lead on Lap 13, but Smith was able to get back alongside a lap later. As the pair continued to battle, Montanari ran third ahead of Yorke, Kamrath and Bullen as Woyslaw and Robinson Jr. went side-by-side for seventh.

Paxton would clear Smith for the lead on Lap 17 with Montanari, Yorke and Kamrath making up the rest of the top-five. Bullen ran sixth, ahead of Woyslaw and McGlashan who ran side-by-side for seventh. McGlashan got the spot on Lap 19 ahead of Woyslaw, Townsend and Seguin as Robinson Jr. headed down pit road with a problem.

Warren Paxton led the rest of the way en route to victory ahead of Charlie Smith, Nic Montanari, Eric Yorke, Andy Kamrath, Josh Bullen, Cameron McGlashan,  Stefan Woyslaw, Ken Townsend, and Randi Seguin. Lisa DeLeeuw finished 11th, followed by Chandler Bos, Joe Dunlop, Trevor Seaboyer, Trevor Hemingway, Eric Rainey, Curtis Stewart, Amanda Shave, Doug Wilman, and Wendy Adams. Taylor Thring finished 21st, followed by Mike Robinson Jr., Dylan Holmes, Peter Wakeling, Dave Middel, and Daniel Montanari.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.