Flamboro Speedway

Andrew Gresel Crowned Don Biederman Memorial Champion at Flamboro

In a unique double 25-lap feature format, it’d be Andrew Gresel being crowned the Don Biederman Memorial Champion at Flamboro Speedway on Saturday night.

The first feature saw Tyler Hawn started on pole ahead of Dario Capirchio, Jamie Richardson, Andrew Gresel, Glenn Watson, Charlie Gallant, Jim Bowman and Shawn Chenoweth. Todd Campbell had also shown up, but was unable to start as a result of suffering a mechanical issue in practice.

Hawn jumped out to the early lead, with Gresel slotting into second ahead of Capirchio. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a smooth start as the caution flew on Lap 2 for an incident in turn three involving Richardson, Chenoweth and Bowman.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Gresel and Hawn, with Gresel taking the top spot on Lap 5 ahead of Hawn, Watson, Gallant, Capirchio, Bowman, Richardson and Chenoweth.

The race appeared to have a green flag look to it, but that wasn’t meant to be the case as the caution flew once more before the race was over. On Lap 19, Capirchio would drive up on the side of Richardson, before lopping it around in turn one.

Andrew Gresel got a good restart to lead the rest of the way en route to his first feature victory of 2017 in his first OSCAAR start of the season. Glenn Watson finished second for his seventh top-five in eight features, followed by Tyler Hawn with his sixth top-five. Charlie Gallant finished fourth for his seventh top-five, while Jim Bowman placed fifth in his 2017 debut.

Shawn Chenoweth finished sixth, followed by Jamie Richardson, Dario Capirchio, and Todd Campbell.

For the second feature, it’d be Charlie Gallant starting pole ahead of Tyler Hawn, Glenn Watson, Andrew Gresel, Dario Capirchio, Shawn Chenoweth, Jamie Richardson, and Jim Bowman.

Gallant jumped out to the early lead on the opening lap ahead of Hawn, Watson, Gresel, Capirchio, Chneoweth and Richardson. Unfortunately, Bowman’s race came to an end early, as he pulled off on Lap 3 with a problem.

The race mostly ran single-file through the beginning, with business picking up in the second half as the focus shifted to the battle to second between Hawn, Watson and Gresel. Watson continued to take peaks underneath Hawn, but was unable to complete the pass, as Gresel lurked behind the pair looking for a way past Watson. The attempts to pass turned into a full pass on Lap 18, with Watson and Gresel both passing Hawn to take over the second and third positions.

Charlie Gallant led the rest of the way en route to scoring the feature victory ahead of Glenn Watson, Andrew Gresel, Tyler Hawn, Dario Capirchio, Shawn Chenoweth, Jamie Richardson and Jim Bowman. Notably, that marked the first top-five for Capirchio in his 2017 season debut.

With the averages put together between the pair of features, a victory in the first one, followed by a third in the second feature, resulted in Andrew Gresel being crowned the 2017 Don Biederman Memorial Champion. A full list of the winners through the years can be viewed below.

Glenn Watson was credited with second overall followed by Charlie Gallant, Tyler Hawn, Shawn Chenoweth, Jim Bowman, Dario Capirchio, Jamie Richardson and Todd Campbell.


Don Biederman Memorial Winners:

2017 – Andrew Gresel

2016 – Shane Maginnis

2015 – Kevin Cornelius

2014 – Kevin Cornelius

2013 – Dwayne Baker

2012 – Brandon Watson

2011 – Jeff Hanley

2010 – Jeff Hanley

2009 – Jeff Hanley

2008 – Jeff Hanley

2007 – Derrick Tiemersma

2006 – TJ Woolsey

2005 – Rob Clarke

2004 – John Fletcher

2003 – John Fletcher

2002 – John Fletcher

2001 – Stu Robinson Jr

2000 – Dave Taylor

1999 – Rob Clarke


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.