Johnny Paradzinski Wins Action-Packed Mini Stock Feature at Sunset Speedway

The mini stocks were all about action on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway, as a slew of cautions resulted in officials shortening the event at halfway.

Nic Montanari won the first heat ahead of Randi Seguin, Robert Toope, Dave Crumbie, Chandler Bos, Curtis Stewart, Eric Rainey, Doug Wilman, Trevor Hemingway and Wendy Adams.

The second heat featured a quick caution with Woyslaw going around on Lap 3 after contact with Cameron McGlashan. Johnny Paradzinksi picked up the win ahead of Eric Yorke, Doug Butler, Charlie Smith, Kyle Fetterly, Josh Bullen, Woyslaw and James Levi. Notably, McGlashan pulled off the last lap with a problem.

Daniel Montanari won the third heat ahead of Samantha Shaw, Joe Dunlop, Lisa DeLeeuw, Bob Phinnemore, Amanda Shave, Dylan Holmes, Trevor Seaboyer, and Peter Wakeling.

Nic Montanari went for the daily double ahead of Wilman, Crumbie, Rainey, Bos, Seguin, Toope, Stewart, Hemingway, and Adams.

Eric Yorke won the fifth heat ahead of McGlashan, Butler, Woyslaw, Paradzinski, Smith, Mike Robinson Jr., Bullen, Fetterly and Levi.

The sixth heat featured a quick caution with Dylan Holmes going for the quick spin in turn two. Daniel Montanari went for the daily double ahead of Shaw, DeLeeuw, Phinnemore, Shave, Dunlop, Holmes, Seaboyer and Wakeling.

Come feature time, it’d be Robert Toope starting pole ahead of Johnny Paradzinski, Amanda Shave, Doug Wilman, Joe Dunlop, Chandler Bos, Lisa DeLeeuw, Dave Crumbie, Bob Phinnemore, and Randi Seguin. Samantha Shaw started 11th, followed by Stefan Woyslaw, Doug Butler, Cameron McGlashan, Nic Montanari, Daniel Montanari, Charlie Smith, Eric Yorke, Eric Rainey and Curtis Stewart. Kyle Fetterly started 21st, followed by Josh Bullen, Justin Holmes, Mike Robinson Jr., Wendy Adams, Trevor Seaboyer, Trevor Hemingway, Peter Wakeling and James Levi.

Right from the start, the feature turned ugly as McGlashan, Seguin, Woyslaw and Nic Montanari went four-wide down the frontstretch on Lap 1, which resulted in contact and a crash entering the first corner. The crash ended up collecting the above mentioned, as well as Stewart, Holmes, Fetterly and Robinson Jr.

The second attempt to start the race was a little cleaner as Paradzinski grabbed the lead with Toope side-by-side with Shave for second. Behind them, Woyslaw and Phinnemore went three-wide with Wilman down the frontstretch, resulting in contact, and some bouncing back and forth between each other as well as with Bos and Crumbie. The action continued, with Wilman eventually going for the spin in turn two.

The restart was no prettier, as three-wide down the backstretch between Smith, Toope and Shave for second resulted in contact, causing all three to crash and collecting a whole slew of others. The full list included Seaboyer, Seguin, Wakeling, Adams, Robinson Jr., Hemingway and Levi.

With three big wrecks happening and not even two laps accounted for on the board, speedway officials decided to go with single-file restarts from here on out.

Paradzinski grabbed the advantage ahead of Dunlop, Phinnemore and DeLeeuw as Woyslaw, Crumbie, and Butler went three-wide for fifth at Lap 3. Woyslaw and Butler came out on top, both passing Crumbie for the position as they continued to battle. Butler grabbed the spot, getting alongside DeLeeuw for fourth at Lap 5, and passing her lap later. Woyslaw then followed him through for fifth, with Wakeling heading down pit road on Lap 6.

Shaw was also able to get by DeLeeuw, getting alongside Woyslaw for fifth at Lap 7 as Yorke passed DeLeeuw for seventh. Daniel Montanari then got alongside DeLeeuw next for the eighth spot at Lap 8. Shaw was able to clear Woyslaw for fourth at Lap 9, bringing Yorke and Montanari through with her as Butler slowed with a problem.

Yorke then looked to get by Shaw for fourth, but contact happened, resulting in Shaw spinning and the fourth caution on Lap 9. With 17 laps to go, Paradzinski led Dunlop, Phinnemore, Daniel Montanari, Woyslaw, DeLeeuw, Crumbie, Bullen, Nic Montanari, Holmes, Rainey, Fetterly, Seguin, Adams, Yorke, Shaw, Wilman, Stewart, Boyer, and Levi.

Paradzinski got a good restart to keep the lead with Daniel Montanari jumping up to second ahead of Phinnemore, Woyslaw, and Dunlop, as Nic Montanari got alongside DeLeeuw for sixth. Montanari got the spot, followed by passing Dunlop for fifth with DeLeeuw getting alongside Dunlop for sixth. Woyslaw then got alongside Phinnemore for third at Lap 13, with Nic Montanari taking them three-wide.

Montanari was unable to clear them both before the caution flew for an incident on the frontstretch involving Crumbie and Bullen. The decision was then made by race officials to throw the checkered flag on the event, despite having only 14 of 25 laps complete.

Johnny Paradzinski picked up the victory ahead of Daniel Montanari, Bob Phinnemore, Nic Montanari, and Stefan Woyslaw. Joe Dunlop finished sixth, followed by Lisa DeLeeuw, Kyle Fetterly, Eric Yorke and Samantha Shaw. Dylan Holmes finished 11th, followed by Eric Rainey, Randi Seguin, Doug Wilman, Tyler Seaboyer, James Levi, Doug Butler, Curtis Stewart, Peter Wakeling and Mike Robinson Jr. Robert Toope finished 21st, followed by Amanda Shave, Chandler Bos, Charlie Smith, Trevor Hemingway, and Cameron McGlashan.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.