Race Reports

Gord Shepherd Out-Duels Holdaway for Victory at Sunset Speedway

In a classic showdown that the fans have grown used to seeing, it’d be Gord Shepherd out-dueling Taylor Holdaway to score the victory in the first Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature at Sunset Speedway on Saturday night.

Following the feature on June 17 with the invert in place, it’d be Danny Benedict starting pole ahead of Ernie Fumerton, Taylor Holdaway, Gord Shepherd, Paul Maltese, Travis Hallyburton, Lane Zardo, Britney Gresel, Kendra Adams, and Thayne Hallyburton. Rick Spencer-Walt started 11th, followed by Nick Goetz, Jordan Latimer, Mike Wilkinson, Chris Morrow, Billy Zardo, Al Inglis and Mike Bentley.

Fumerton grabbed the early advantage with Benedict, Holdaway and Shepherd three-wide for second. However, the caution flew with Spencer-Walt going around in turn four, collecting Morrow.

The restart saw the field stack up with Maltese not getting up to speed, being split through the field. Meanwhile, Fumerton continued to hold serve with Holdaway up to second as Travis Hallyburton got alongside Benedict for third ahead of Shepherd, Gresel, Thayne Hallyburton, Latimer, Maltese and Lane Zardo. Holdaway would then get alongside Fumerton for the lead at Lap 6, as Travis cleared Benedict for third with Shepherd looking to follow him through.

On Lap 8, Holdaway took over the top spot ahead of Fumerton, Travis Hallyburton, Shepherd, Benedict and Gresel. Hallyburton then got alongside Fumerton for second at Lap 10 with the rest of the top-five remaining the same. Behind them, Goetz had worked his way up to seventh ahead of Latimer and Thayne Hallyburton by Lap 12, with Goetz getting alongside Gresel for sixth at Lap 13.

Unfortunately, the battle for second did not end well for Fumerton as he’d go around in turn four on Lap 15 after contact from Travis Hallyburton. With 21 lap to go, Holdaway led Hallyburton, Shepherd, Benedict, Gresel, Goetz, Latimer, Maltese, Thayne Hallyburton, Lane Zardo, Spencer-Walt, Billy Zardo, Adams, Bentley, Inglis, Morrow, Wilkinson and Morrow.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Holdaway and Travis Hallyburton, with Holdaway taking sole possession of first at Lap 16 ahead of Hallyburton and Shepherd. Behind them, Gresel and Benedict battled side-by-side for fourth, with Gresel getting the spot on Lap 18 and bringing Goetz through with her.

Goetz looked set to pass Gresel off of turn four when on Lap 20, he would blow the motor to bring out the third caution. With 16 laps to go, Holdaway led Hallyburton, Shepherd, Gresel, Benedict, Latimer, Maltese, Spencer-Walt, Lane Zardo, Bentley, Adams, Thayne Hallyburton, Inglis, Wilkinson, Fumerton, Morrow and Billy Zardo.

Holdaway got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Travis Hallyburton, with Shepherd and Gresel side-by-side for third ahead of Latimer and Spencer-Walt. Shepherd would clear Gresel for the spot on Lap 23 with Bentley clearing Benedict for seventh a lap later. The fourth caution then flew on Lap 25 as result of a flat tire for Hallyburton. With 11 laps to go, Holdaway led Shepherd, Gresel, Latimer, Spencer-Walt, Bentley, Benedict, Maltese, Lane Zardo, Adams, Wilkinson, Thayne Hallyburton, Morrow, Inglis and Fumerton.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Holdaway and Shepherd, with Latimer moving into third as Bentley got alongside Gresel for fourth ahead of Spencer-Walt and Maltese. Bentley got the spot on Lap 29, with Spencer-Walt looking to pass her next. Unfortunately, contact ensued, resulting in Spencer-Walt going around and heavy front end damage for Gresel, and the fifth caution. With six laps to go, Shepherd led Holdaway, Latimer, Bentley, Maltese, Benedict, Adams, Thayne Hallyburton, Lane Zardo, Wilkinson, Inglis, Morrow, Fumerton, Travis Hallyburton, Billy Zardo and Spencer-Walt.

The restart saw a continuation of the battle for the lead between Holdaway and Shepherd, but it also saw the return of the caution flag with Fumerton coming to a stop in turn three.

The second restart saw the battle once again carry forward, with Holdaway and Shepherd remaining side-by-side till the white flag lap.

In the end, it’d be Gord Shepherd getting ahead, and edging Taylor Holdaway at the line for the victory. Mike Bentley finished third, followed by Jordan Latimer and Paul Maltese. Danny Benedict finished sixth, followed by Thayne Hallyburton, Kendra Adams, Lane Zardo and Mike Wilkinson. Chris Morrow finished 11th, followed by Al Inglis, Rick Spencer-Walt, Billy Zardo, Travis Hallyburton and Brittney Gresel.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.