Race Reports

Nick Goetz Scores Late Model Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

Picking up the pole, Nick Goetz would lead flag-to-flag en route to scoring the victory in the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature at Sunset Speedway.

Following qualifying, it’d be Goetz on the pole ahead of Rick Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, Taylor Holdaway, Gord Shepherd, Thayne Hallyburton, Mike Bentley, Dwayne Baker, Brittney Gresel, Paul Maltese, Chris Morrow, A.J. Emms, Danny Benedict, Mike Wilkinson, Kendra Adams, Allan Inglis, Jordan Latimer, Lane Zardo, Ernie Fumerton and Ron Quesnelle.

Off the drop of the green flag, it’d be Goetz and Spencer-Walt side-by-side for the lead, with Travis Hallyburton grabbing third as Holdaway and Shepherd went side-by-side for fourth. Shepherd grabbed the spot on Lap 3, bringing Bentley and Billy Zardo through with him.

At the front, Goetz took sole procession of the top spot on Lap 6 ahead of Spencer-Walt, Hallyburton, Shepherd, Bentley, Zardo, Holdaway, Hallyburton, Gresel and Morrow, with Maltese and Benedict side-by-side for 11th at Lap 9. Both Bentley and Zardo would get by Shepherd for position, with Zardo getting alongside Bentley for fifth at Lap 12.

Behind them, Shepherd ran seventh ahead of Holdaway, Gresel, Thayne Hallyburton and Maltese, with Adams side-by-side with Morrow for 15th. Adams got the spot on Lap 15, with Benedict getting alongside Morrow next ahead of Lane Zardo, as Fumerton and Latimer battled for 19th. Fumerton got the spot on Lap 17, with Quesnelle getting alongside Latimer next.

Further up the field, Bentley was finally able to clear Billy Zardo for fourth, with Shepherd getting alongside Zardo next, as Holdaway and Gresel went side-by-side for seventh.

The battle for fourth turned ugly on Lap 20 with Shepherd getting into Bentley, followed by Bentley getting into Zardo a lap later. Off the turn four, the three drivers went three-wide, resulting in a cut tire for Zardo. Zardo would then spin, collecting Bentley to cause him to spin also. Zardo made it back to pit road for a tire change before rejoining the field, while Bentley left the track done for the event.

Under caution, Latimer and Morrow both hit pit road for adjustments. With 14 laps remaining, Goetz led Spencer-Walt, Hallyburton, Shepherd, Holdaway, Gresel, Thayne Hallyburton, Maltese, Adams, Benedict, Lane Zardo, Fumerton, Quesnelle, Inglis, Wilkinson, Emms, Morrow, Latimer and Billy Zardo.

Goetz got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Spencer-Walt, Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton, Gresel, Holdaway and Maltese, with Thayne Hallyburton and Benedict side-by-side for eighth. Shepherd would then get alongside Spencer-Walt for second at Lap 25, but the caution flew a lap later for a big accident in turn one. Entering the corner, Quesnelle got into Emms, causing Emms to go up the track, followed by Morrow driving over the front end of Emms. In the process, both Inglis and Billy Zardo would also get collected and damaged.

The restart saw a battle for the lead, with Goetz clearing Spencer-Walt for first on Lap 27 as Travis Hallyburton and Shepherd rounded out the top-four. Behind them, Gresel got alongside Holdaway for fifth, and completed the pass on Lap 29. Billy Zardo’s feature came to an end on the same lap, as he headed down pit road.

Back on track, Thayne Hallyburton ran seventh ahead of Maltese, Benedict, Adams, Lane Zardo and Fumerton, with Latimer alongside Wilkinson for 13th. Gresel would then continue her climb, getting alongside Shepherd for fourth with three laps to go.

Nick Goetz picked up the win ahead of Rick Spencer-Walt, Travis Hallyburton, Gord Shepherd, and Brittney Gresel. Taylor Holdaway finished sixth, followed by Thayne Hallyburton, Paul Maltese, Lane Zardo and Kendra Adams. Ernie Fumerton finished 11th, followed by Jordan Latimer, Mike Wilkinson, Chris Morrow, Ron Quesnelle, Billy Zardo, Danny Benedict, Al Inglis, AJ Emms, and Mike Bentley.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.