Race Reports

Miles Tyson Scores First Career Super Stock Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

After taking the lead at halfway, Miles Tyson held off the field en route to his first career St. Onge Recreation Super Stock feature victory on Saturday night at Sunset Speedway.

Mike Weeda edged Mike Bentley at the line to win the first heat ahead of Johnny Morrison, Dustyn Mombourquette, Frank Davey, Brandon Passer, Coltin Everingham, Jay Cutting, Chris Allard and Ethan Constable. Notably, the race didn’t go without incident as Constable went for a quick spin mid-race in turns three and four.

Last week’s feature winner Gerrit Tiemersma won the second heat ahead of Stefan Semeraro, Jade Franklin, Justin Holmes, Ryan Semple, Jordan Howse, Herb Walters, and Robbie Sikes.

Coltin Everingham won the third heat ahead of Passer, Mombourquette, Morrison, Weeda, Davey, Bentley, Allard, Cutting and Constable.

Ryan Semple won the fourth heat ahead of Howse, Walters, Tiemersma, Holmes, Franklin, Semeraro, Tyson and Sikes.

Come feature time, it’d be Jay Cutting jumping out to the early lead, with Robbie Sikes and Chris Allard side-by-side for second. Allard got the spot on Lap 3, with Tyson slipping through for third. Allard then got alongside Cutting for the lead on Lap 4, completing the pass a lap later. Tyson then got alongside Cutting for second on Lap 6 ahead of Davey, as Everingham and Tiemersma ran side-by-side for fifth.

Behind them, Brandon Passer ran sixth as of Lap 8 ahead of Walters, with Franklin and Morrison side-by-side for eighth, and Howse and Semple side-by-side for 10th. Further up the field, Tyson was able to get second from Cutting, followed by getting alongside Allard for the lead at Lap 10. Tyson was unable to complete the pass, though, falling back in line a lap later ahead of Davey, Everingham, Tiemersma and Walters, with Cutting and Passer side-by-side for seventh, as Morrison and Howse ran side-by-side for ninth.

Tyson would try again for the lead at Lap 14, completing the pass two laps later to take the top spot. Davey would then get alongside Allard for second, with Tiemersma getting alongside Everingham for fourth. The caution would then fly on Lap 20, though, with Mombourquette going around in turn four. With 11 laps to go, Tyson led Davey, Allard, Everingham, Tiemersma, Howse, Walters, Semple, Passer, Morrison, Bentley, Cutting, Franklin, Weeda, Semeraro, Constable, Mombourquette, Sikes, and Holmes.

Tyson got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Davey, with Allard and Everingham side-by-side for third. Everingham got the spot on Lap 22, with Tiemersma and Semple following him through, as Allard now found himself three-wide for sixth with Walters and Howse. Howse got the spot on Lap 24 ahead of Walters, with Bentley getting alongside Allard for eighth.

Further up the field, Tiemersma continued his climb up through the field, getting alongside Everingham for third at Lap 25. He’d complete the pass a lap later, with Semple rounding out the top-five. Tiemersma was set on continuing to climb his way forward as he got alongside Davey for second with three laps to go.

Miles Tyson would lead the final laps with ease to score the victory ahead of Gerrit Tiemersma, Frank Davey, Coltin Everingham and Ryan Semple. Jordan Howse finished sixth, followed by Mike Bentley, Herb Walters, Brandon Passer, and Mike Weeda. Johnny Morrison finished 11th, followed by Chris Allard, Jade Franklin, Jay Cutting, Stefan Semeraro, Justin Holmes, Dustyn Mombourquette, Ethan Constable, and Robbie Sikes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.