By The Numbers: GCC Construction Corporation Sunset Speedway Mini Stock Season


After an exciting season lasting from the very start in April to the very end in September, Sunset Speedway fans know they got delivered the action they wanted throughout each event. In the end, it was Nic Montanari picking up his first career championship. However, he wasn’t the only driver who surprised fans and/or racked up numbers.

Let’s take a look back at the season by looking at how the numbers tallied together.

drivers scored more than 11 heat top-fives this season – Gerrit Tiemersma and Eric Yorke.

Fast Qualifier’s Dash wins for Andy Kamrath and Charlie Smith led all drivers this season.

drivers won three or more heats this season – Kamrath, Nic Montanari, Cory Young and Yorke

feature wins by Yorke led all drivers this season.

drivers won a Fast Qualifier’s Dash this season – Kamrath, Warren Paxton, Young, Yorke, Smith and Chris Allard.

drivers scored more than 10 feature top-10s this season – Terry Woodley, Montanari, Jake Watson, Tiemersma and Yorke.

drivers scored more than five feature top-fives this season – Kamrath, Brandon Crumbie, Paxton, Montanari, Young and Yorke.

6 heat wins by Montanari led all drivers this season.

Fast Qualifier’s Dash top-fives by Crumbie, Paxton, and Yorke led all drivers this season.

drivers won at least one feature this season.

8th points finisher Stefan Woyslaw had a best run of 10th on June 17.

9th points finisher Terry Woodley persevered through some frustrations, posting a best finish of fifth on three different occasions.

10 drivers won at least one heat this season.

10 feature top-fives by Montari led all drivers this season.

12 drivers scored at least one Fast Qualifier’s Dash top-five this season.

14 heat top-fives for Tiemersma made him the only driver to finish every heat in the top-five.

14 feature top-10s by Montanari led all drivers this season and means he finished in the top-10 every night this year.

15 points was the margin between Montanari and Yorke at season’s end.

15 drivers scored at least one feature top-five this season.

No. 17 driven by Tiemersa visited victory lane for the first time in his young career on June 17. He then backed it up with a second win later on during the season.

21 drivers scored at least one heat top-five this season.

22 drivers scored at least one feature top-10 this season.

25 drivers ran at least one race this season.

No. 33 driven by Warren Paxton picked up the win on June 11.

No. 36 driven by Cory Young may not have visited feature victory lane at Sunset Speedway this season en route to finishing fourth in points, but he won Frostoberest at Flamboro Speedway.

No. 35 driven by Andy Kamrath visited victory lane twice on points night this season. He also capped off the season by winning the Velocity 250.

No. 38 driven by Steeve Melson finished seventh in points with a pair of top-10s in comeback year to racing.

No. 64 driven by Dave Crumbie may not have posted a feature top-five this season, but he finished sixth in the year-end points with a best finish of seventh on two occasions.

No. 78 driven by Chris Allard picked up his first career Mini Stock feature victory on September 3.

No. 85 driven by Charlie Smith visited victory lane twice during the month of July.

No. 88 driven by Jake Watson came close to visiting victory lane this year with four top-fives en route to a fifth place finish in points.

No. 83 driven by Cameron McGlashan posted his first career Mini Stock top-five on July 30 with a fifth.

No. 98 driven by Nic Montanari visited victory lane twice en route to winning the championship.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s