Outlaw Midgets

Jody Bound Spins to Outlaw Midget Velocity 250 Victory at Sunset Speedway

Despite going for an early race spin, Jody Bound fought back to capture the victory in the Outlaw Midget Velocity 250 feature at Sunset Speedway.

Series founder Robin McLean won the first heat ahead of Adam Carrothers, Shawn Gardner, Raynor Vickers, Ryan Brown, Steve Lassman and Nigel Buttivant.

The second heat featured a small incident between James Rodgers and Brian Woodland in turn two. Jessica James picked up the win ahead of Adam Tyo, Mike Bradley, Owen Elliott, Woodland and Wayne McKibbon.

The third heat featured a quick caution for Kevin Spiez spinning on Lap 4 while Jody Bound picked up the win ahead of Rob McCall, Richard Woodland, Larry Lawson, Zac Millman, Lorne Van Dusen Jr. and Spiez.

Come feature time, it’d be Kevin Spiez starting pole ahead of Rob McCall, Richard Woodland, Robin McLean, Jessica James, Shawn Gardner, Adam Tyo, Brian Woodland, Jody Bound, Adam Carrothers, Nigel Buttivant, Mike Bradley and Raynor Vickers.

Rob McCall grabbed the early lead ahead of McLean as Gardner moved into third ahead of James, Bound and Richard Woodland. Tyo ran seventh on Lap 3 ahead of Carrothers and Bradley. It didn’t take the first caution long to fly as it’d come out on Lap 4 for Bound spinning in turn two. With 16 laps to go, McCall led McLean, Garner, Woodland, Tyo, Carrothers, Bradley, Brian Woodland, Owen Elliott, Vickers, Spiez, Ryan Brown, Larry Lawson and Buttivant.

Gardner got the jump on the restart, grabbing the lead ahead of McCall with McLean now third ahead of Richard Woodland, Bradley and Tyo. However, the yellow flag was quickly back out as Zac Millman went around in turn two on Lap 6.

Gardner got a good restart to keep the lead while Bound worked his way into the runner-up spot, despite starting tail end of the field after spinning on Lap 4. McLean now ran third ahead of McCall, Bradley and Richard Woodland. With half the distance in the books, James ran seventh ahead of Tyo, Brian Woodland, Elliott, Vickers and James Rodgers.

Despite the top-eight remaining single-file, there were still battles around the track as Elliott passed Brian Woodland to take over ninth on Lap 12 as Lawson came into the pits. Elliott kept moving forward, passing Tyo to move into eighth on Lap 14.

With five laps remaining, Bound was able to catch and get alongside Gardner for the lead, taking the top spot a lap later. McLean was then able to get by Gardner for the second spot on Lap 17 as a result of Gardner getting stuck behind a lap car.

Jody Bound led the rest of the way en route to picking up the victory ahead of Robin McLean, Shawn Gardner, Rob McCall and Owen Elliott. Mike Bradley finished sixth, followed by Richard Woodland, Adam Tyo, Brian Woodland and Raynor Vickers. Ryan Brown finished 11th, followed by Wayne McKibbon, Jessica James, Kevin Spiez, James Rodgers, Nigel Buttivant, Zac Millman, Lorne Van Dusen Jr., Larry Lawson and Adam Carrothers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.