Race Reports

Taylor Holdaway Scores Fifth Straight Victory at Sunset Speedway


For the fifth straight feature at Sunset Speedway, it’d be Taylor Holdaway visiting victory lane as he claimed the victory. It marks his 10th victory in the last 12 feature events.

The driver of the No. 41 Holdaway Automotive, Imagefactor.ca Motorsports Design and Photography, Wix Filters, Castrol Canada, Kart Start presented by Toyota, Sunshine Super Wash, and Stefko Racing Engines Late Model started off the night at the top of the charts, posting the quickest time in time trials with a lap of 14.718 seconds. Gord Shepherd would qualify second with a 14.808, followed by Billy Zardo (14.855), Tom Walters (14.927) and Scott Wylie (14.981).

Jason Witty started sixth, followed by Travis Hallyburton, Thayne Hallyburton, Nick Goetz, Brittney Gresel, Ian Bourque, Dave Bartlett, Dwight Brown, Chris Morrow, Frank Davey, Jordan Latimer, Marcus Keeler, Ernie Fumerton, Andre Pepin, Al Inglis, Paul Maltese, Mike Wilkinson, Rick Terry and Mike Weitz.

Holdaway would grab the lead on the green flag ahead of Shepherd, with Walters pulling alongside Shepherd for second at lap two ahead of Witty and Zardo; Shepherd was able to hold Walters off for the spot. Behind them, Wylie ran fifth as the Hallyburton brothers battled for sixth ahead of Goetz and Gresel. Travis Hallyburton would get the spot on lap eight ahead of Thayne and Goetz as Morrow got alongside Gresel for ninth ahead of Bourque.

Holdaway continued to lead Shepherd, Walters and Witty as Wylie got alongside Zardo for fifth ahead of Travis Hallyburton while Thayne Hallyburton battled Goetz for eighth. Goetz would get the spot at lap 10 ahead of Thayne Hallyburton, Morrow and Gresel while Bourque and Latimer battled for 12th. Latimer would get by Bourque for 12th at lap 12.

At the front of the field, Witty would get by Walters for third at lap 16, while Zardo was able to keep Wylie behind him for fifth. Travis Hallyburton would continue to run seventh ahead of Goetz, Morrow, Thayne Hallyburton, Gresel, Latimer, Bourque, Brown, Davey and Inglis. Wylie would try once again to get by Zardo for fifth at lap 22, finally able to make the pass. Further back through the field, Gresel and Latimer would make contact, but both drivers were able to keep going.

Throughout the final laps, Taylor Holdaway would be surrounded by lap traffic at the front of the field. Even with that said, he was able to hold off the whole field en route to scoring the victory. Gord Shepherd finished second, followed by Jason Witty, Tom Walters, Scott Wylie, Billy Zardo, Nick Goetz, Travis Hallyburton, Chris Morrow, Thayne Hallyburton, Jordan Latimer, Dwight Brown, Brittney Gresel, Ian Bourque, Al Inglis, Frank Davey, Ernie Fumerton, Marcus Keeler, Andre Pepin, Mike Wilkinson, Rick Terry, Dave Barlett and Mike Wilkinson.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.