Delaware Speedway

J.R. Fitzpatrick Scores Modified Victory at Day 1 of OSCAAR Nationals

LONDON, Ontario — Taking the lead around the halfway mark, J.R. Fitzpatrick led the rest of the way en route to winning the Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC OSCAAR Modifieds presented by Just Foam It feature fueled by Touchwood Cabinets on day one of OSCAAR Nationals at Delaware Speedway.

Andy Kamrath won the first heat in front of TJ Edwards, J.R. Fitzpatrick, TJ Marshall, Marshall Schrenk, Chris Milwain, Jason Keen, A.J. Emms, Dale Reinhart, and Jake Watson.

Bryan Batty was victorious in the second qualifier ahead of Ryan Dick, Paul Townsend, Herb Walters, Norman Newman, Tyler Liscum, Mike Hearty, Tommy Robb, and Wally Wilson.

Come feature time, Ryan Dick started pole in front of Paul Townsend, Herb Walters, TJ Edwards, Andy Kamrath, Bryan Batty, J.R. Fitzpatrick, TJ Marshall, Marshall Schrenk, Norman Newman, Chris Milwain, Jason Keen, Mike Hearty, A.J. Emms, Tommy Robb, Dale Reinhart, Wally Wilson, and Jake Watson.

The feature would start off with a big crash on the backstretch as Dick came down into Kamrath mid-way down the straightaway, resulting in Kamrath spinning back up across the track, collecting several others. The list of drivers involved included Keen, Newman, Reinhart, Hearty, Liscum, Marshall, and Schrenk.

The second attempt to start the event saw TJ Edwards grab the advantage in front of Fitzpatrick, Batty, Townsend, and Emms. The caution then came back out again, though, this time for Batty going for a spin in turns one and two.

TJ Edwards got another masterful start as Fitzpatrick remained second in front of Emms, Watson and Walters, with Batty and Townsend side-by-side. Batty got the spot, followed by a pass on Walters for fifth on Lap 6. The shuffling continued, with Schrenk getting by Townsend for seventh two laps later.

As the race reached the halfway mark, the deck got shuffled with J.R. Fitzpatrick finding his way alongside Edwards, taking the top spot.  It wasn’t good fortune for everyone, though, as Walters got two-wheels up on the backstretch wall off of turn two, resulting in having to pit a couple laps later. Wilson also made his way to pit road with mechanical issues.

J.R. Fitzpatrick led the rest of the way en route to picking up the win ahead of TJ Edwards, A.J. Emms, Jake Watson, and Bryan Batty.

OSCAAR is proud to be supported by Queenston Chevrolet Buick GMC, Just Foam It, Scott Reinhart Trailer Sales Ltd., Touchwood Cabinets, JRS Auctions, EPIC Racewear, Grisdale Race Products, The Fyre Place & Patio Shop, Point-s Action Tire and Automotive, and American Racer Tire.

Be sure to keep up with OSCAAR by staying tuned to the series website at Also, make sure to “like” the official OSCAAR Racing Facebook page, while following both the Twitter and Instagram accounts (@OSCAARRacing) to keep up to date on everything you need to know.

By: Ashley McCubbin

1 #9 J.R. Fitzpatrick
2 #34 TJ Edwards
3 #14 A.J. Emms
4 #88 Jake Watson
5 #39 Bryan Batty
6 #22 Marshall Schrenk
7 #1 Paul Townsend
8 #20 Mike Hearty
9 #69 Wally Wilson
10 #78 Herb Walters
11 #75 TJ Marshall
12 #21 Chris Milwain
13 #11 Norman Newman
14 #18 Jason Keen
15 #81 Tyler Liscum
16 #51 Dale Reinhart
17 #7 Tommy Robb
18 #88d Ryan Dick
19 #35 Andy Kamrath

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.