Bone Stocks

Past Champions, Young Drivers Score Wins at Sunset

(C)Debbie-Jo Zardo


A new season has begun at Sunset Speedway, with some familiar faces finding their way to victory lane in the process.

Josh Stade is hoping the bad luck of past seasons is in the rearview mirror, courtesy of a victory in the Pro Late Model division. The No. 17 started on pole, and did not look back despite a field of heavy-hitters in the rearview mirror en route to the victory.

(C)Debbie-Jo Zardo

Ryan Kimball utilized a bump-and-run on Rick Spencer-Walt for a runner-up performance, which was an impression rebound as Kimball found himself spun around on Lap 1 courtesy of contact with Travis Hallyburton. Danny Benedict rebounded from early race contact with Connor James to place fourth, with Dwayne Baker rounding out the top-five.

Dario Capirchio finished sixth, followed by Billy Zardo, Samantha Shaw, Jordan Howse, James, and Hallyburton.

The Super Stock division ultimately put on the show of the evening, with their race coming down to a late-race three-way battle. Brandon Passer would utilize the bump-and-run with a couple laps remaining to take the advantage, scoring the victory over Andy Kamrath and Johnny Morrison. Dan Archibald rebounded from a mid-race incident with Gerrit Tiemersma to place fourth, with Cory McAllister rounding out the top-five.

Tyler Hawn made his debut with a sixth-place finish, followed by Tiemersma, Nick Tooley, Joe Daley, Connor Maltese, Matt McGrath, and Brandon Feeney.

New year, same dance for the Mini Stocks as Josh Bullen continued to show the way, scoring a feature victory to kick off his title defense. Johnny Paradzinski ran top-five all race for a runner-up, followed by Cole Quinton, Cameron McGlashan, and Chris Allard. Allard’s fifth is made more impressive after he was one of three cars involved in a heat-race incident.

Jason D’Antimo placed sixth, followed by Ryan D’Antimo, Bob Phinnemore, Patrick Farrow, and John Bird. Wyatt Sutcliffe debuts with an 11th, followed by Eric Rainey, Madisson Tienkamp, Coleridge Phinnemore, and Kris Inglis. Notably, Matt Boyes missed the feature due to the aforementioend heat crash.

(C)Debbie-Jo Zardo

Jordan Owen put together a very impressive night as he debuted his new ride in dominating fashion, winning both qualifying heats and the feature as he drove away from Brandon Steele and Calvin Reesor. Jacob Booth and Jack Bird rounded out the top-five, followed by Austyn Jennett, Aundrea Lusk, Shawn Sikes, Andrew Shilling, Cash Ireton, and Nicholas Reece. Karlie Wilman failed to take the green flag after mechanical issues.

Ryder White showed speed through pre-season testing, and that shined through come race night as he won the Jr. Late Model feature in front of Oliver Ferguson, Laila Walser, Brandon Magee, Jake Spencer-Walt, and Keegan Moat. Notably, their feature did have a couple quick incidents with a little bit of contact along the way.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.