Race Reports

Lane Zardo Dominates Super Stock Fall Velocity at Sunset Speedway

INNISFIL, Ontario — Continuing the terror that he has been on lately, Lane Zardo dominated the Fall Velocity feature on Sunday at Sunset Speedway.

Matt Bentley won the first heat in front of Dwayne Baker, Ryan Semple, Paul Boundy, Johnny Morrison, Frank Davey, and Jordan Latimer.

Paul Pepper was victorious in the second qualifier ahead of Lane Zardo, Todd Davenport, Brandon Passer, Brandon McFerran, Cory McAllister, and Dan Robb.

Frank Davey won the third heat in front of Latimer, Baker, Morrison, Bentley, Semple, and Boundy.

Lane Zardo was victorious in the final qualifier ahead of McAllister, McFerran, Robb, Davenport, Passer, and Pepper.

Come feature time, Paul Pepper started pole in front of Frank Davey, Matt Bentley, Dwayne Baker, Lane Zardo, Todd Davenport, Brandon McFerran, Johnny Morrison, Jordan Latimer, Cory McAllister, Brandon Passer, Dan Robb, and Paul Boundy.

The drop of the green flag saw a battle for the lead between Pepper and Davey, as Bentley and Baker ran side-by-side for third. Pepper grabbed the initial advantage on Lap 2, but that would not last. Bentley took over the top spot a lap later, with Zardo getting alongside Pepper as Davey and Baker battled for fourth.

Zardo took over second on Lap 5, bringing Davey and McFerran through with him over the next couple laps as Pepper found himself battling Davenport for fifth. Morrison would then take them three-wide on Lap 10, resulting in Morrison and Davenporth both getting by Pepper.

At the front of the field, Zardo tracked down Bentley for the top spot, getting alongside him on Lap 12, and taking over the lead a lap later. Davey now ran third ahead of McFerran, Morrison and Davenport, as the caution came out on Lap 14 for Latimer spinning in turn two.

Zardo got a good restart ahead of Bentley, as Morrison took Davey and McFerran three-wide for third. Davey would fall back, falling into the clutches of Baker for fifth as Davenport ran seventh in front of McAllister and Passer.

With 17 laps on the board, Zardo held the advantage over Bentley, as Morrison and McFerran continue to battle for third in front of Baker, Davey and Davenport, with Passer alongside McAllister for eighth. Morrison would take over third on Lap 20, with Baker following suit two laps later, as Davenport challenged Davey for fifth.

Davenport would move into fifth on Lap 23, as Baker challenged Morrison for third. Morrison would try the crossover on Baker, but it did not work as Baker took over the spot on Lap 26, with McFerran fifth in front of Davenport, Davey, Passer, McAllister, Boundy, Pepper, and Robb.

The race had a green flag appearance to it, but that would not last. Instead, contact on Lap 47 would see Davenport spin McFerran coming off of turn four.

Lane Zardo got a good restart to lead the rest of the way en route to victory in front of Matt Bentley, Johnny Morrison, Dwayne Baker, and Brandon Passer. Frank Davey finished sixth, followed by Paul Boundy, Brandon McFerran, and Cory McAllister.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.