Race Reports

Gord Shepherd Scores Late Model Feature Victory at Sunset Speedway

Making his way through the field, Gord Shepherd took the lead with about 10 laps to go, and did not look back en route to winning the Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model feature on Sunday afternoon.

Ernie Fumerton started pole ahead of Travis Hallyburton, Ron Quesnelle, Billy Zardo, Paul Maltese, Daniel Montanari, Dwayne Baker, Danny Benedict, Gord Shepherd, Rick Spencer-Walt, Thayne Hallyburton, Al Inglis, Mike Wilkinson, Stefan Semeraro, Chris McIssac, Brandon Feeney, and Robbie Sikes.

Travis Hallyburton would grab the lead off of the drop of the green flag with Zardo moving into second ahead of Fumerton and Quesnelle, as Maltese and Montanari battled for fifth. Maltese would get the spot on Lap 3, with Baker looking to get by Montanari next. He would not get the chance, though, with the caution coming out for Inglis going around in turn four.

Hallyburton got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Zardo, with Quesnelle moving up into third ahead of Baker, Shepherd and Spencer-Walt. Behind them, Benedict, Fumerton and Maltese ran three-wide for seventh. Shepherd would then make the move up into fourth on Lap 8, bringing Spencer-Walt through with him. Baker now ran sixth ahead of Benedict, Maltese, and Fumerton.

With 12 laps on the board, Hallyburton continued to lead as Quesnelle made the move up into second, with Shepherd challenging Zardo for third. Shepherd got the spot on Lap 14, bringing Spencer-Walt through with him two laps later.

Zardo now ran fifth as Benedict and Maltese ran side-by-side for seventh ahead of Baker and Sikes. There’d also be a battle for 10th between Montanari and Fumerton, with Fumerton getting the spot on Lap 18 ahead of Montanari, Thayne Hallyburton and Feeney, as McIssac and Wilkinson battled for 14th.

At the front of the field, Shepherd would get alongside Quesnelle for second on Lap 20, with the battle for seventh continuing between Benedict and Maltese. They would remain side-by-side until the caution came out on Lap 23 for Baker going up in smoke. With 12 laps to go, Travis Hallyburton led Shepherd, Quesnelle, Spencer-Walt, Zardo, Benedict, Maltese, Sikes, Fumerton, and Montanari.

Gord Shepherd got a good restart to take the lead ahead of Hallyburton, with Spencer-Walt getting alongside Quesnelle for third. However, the yellow flag would wave once again, this time on Lap 25 for an incident involving Maltese and Sikes in turn two.

Shepherd got another good restart, with Spencer-Walt moving up into second ahead of Hallyburton. Quesnelle would then get alongside Hallyburton for third on Lap 27, with Zardo and Benedict side-by-side for fifth ahead of Fumerton. Quesnelle got the third spot with six laps to go, with Benedict taking over fifth a lap later. Zardo now ran sixth, as Montanari got alongside Fumerton for seventh on Lap 32.

Gord Shepherd led the rest of the way en route to picking up the win, just 0.188 seconds ahead of Rick Spencer-Walt. Ron Quesnelle finished third, followed by Travis Hallyburton and Danny Benedict. Billy Zardo finished sixth, followed by Ernie Fumerton, Thayne Hallyburton, Paul Maltese, and Al Inglis. Mike Wilkinson finished 11th, followed by Chris McIssac, Daniel Montanari, Stefan Semeraro, Robbie Sikes, Brandon Feeney, and Dwayne Baker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.