Lucas Oil T.Q. Can-Am Midgets

Darren Dryden Caps off Championship Season with Victory

Knowing he had the championship locked up by simply starting the Lucas Oil T.Q. Can-Am Midget feature at Sunset Speedway, Darren Dryden ended his season with a high as he scored the feature victory at the Velocity 250.

Luc Munsie started pole ahead of Jeff Blackburn, Cassidy March, Lucas Smith, Rob Nealy, Dominique Smith, Steve Murdock, Mack DeMan, Darren Dryden, Brandon Zavarella, the 11, Bob Bailey, and the 16.

Munsie grabbed the early advantage ahead of Blackburn, with Dryden alongside Lucas Smith for third. Behind them, Murdock would get alongside Dominique Smith for fifth, as Dryden moved into third on Lap 4 ahead of Lucas Smith and Murdock. Dryden continued to move forward, passing Blackburn for second at Lap 5, before taking the lead on Lap 6. The first caution would then fly, though, for the 16 spinning in turn two.

Dryden would get a good restart ahead of Munsie and Murdock, but the caution came back out again on Lap 7 for Zavarella spinning, and flipping in turns three and four. They’d get him back on the wheels, and he’d be allowed to continue despite no wing on the car. Meanwhile, Lucas Smith headed pit side and came back on the track, though was told that he was done for the event due to leaving the surface. As of Lap 7, Dryden led Munsie, Murdock, Blackburn, DeMan, Dominique Smith, Whittam, Nealy, March, the 11, Zavarella, Bailey, and the 16.

The first attempt at a restart produced the third caution with Nealy going around for the spin in turns one and two. The second attempt was clean with Dryden leading as Murdock moved into second with DeMan alongside Munsie for third. DeMan took the spot on Lap 9, but the caution would fly for March going around on the frontstretch.

Murdock got a good restart to take the lead ahead of Dryden and DeMan, with Dominique Smith fourth ahead of Zavarella and Nealy. Munsie would then get by Nealy for sixth on Lap 12, with Whittam following through a lap later. Nealy now ran eighth ahead of March and the 11, with the 11 passing March for ninth at Lap 15. The 11 would get alongside Nealy for eighth on Lap 16 as March slowed with a problem.

At the front of the field, Dryden got alongside Murdock for the top spot at Lap 17, though fell back in line in second ahead of DeMan, Smith, Zavarella, Whittam, Munsie, and the 11. Dryden would try again for the lead, this time completing the pass on Lap 21, with DeMan following him through two laps later for second.

Darren Dryden scored the victory ahead of Mack DeMan, Steve Murdock, Dominique Smith, Cory Whittam, Brandon Zavarella, the 11, Rob Nealy, Jeff Blackburn, and Bob Bailey.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.