Ontario Legend Series

Matt Haufe Scores Eastern Ontario Legends Series Victory at Sunset Speedway

For everything official, please refer to Eastern Ontario Legend Series’ PR Jim Clarke at Clarke Motorsports Communications. These are simply the notes and observations of Short Track Musings’ Ashley McCubbin.

Taking the lead on a restart, Matt Haufe led the rest of the way en route to scoring the victory in the Eastern Ontario Legends Series feature at Sunset Speedway’s Spring Velocity.

The night started off with a quick caution as Shawn Murray spun in turn three on Lap 3. Matt Haufe picked up the win ahead of Cole McFadden, Miles Tyson, Wes Cuthbertson, Don Arnott, Andrew Massey, and the 21.

Cole Ledson won the second heat ahead of Adam Cuthbertson, Jamie Riberdy, Terry McCelland, Jeff Drimmie, Rick Eades, Andrew McFadden, Joe Sherman and the 66.

Matt Haufe made it a daily double in the third heat ahead of Cole McFadden, Tyson, Wes Cuthberston, Murray, Arnott, Massey and the 21.

Ledson also made it a daily double in the fourth heat ahead of Adam Cuthbertson, Riberdy, McCelland, the Drimmie, Andrew McFadden, Eades, Sherman and the 66.

With qualifying in the books, it’d be Adam Cuthberston starting pole ahead of Cole McFadden, Cole Ledson, Jamie Riberdy, Wes Cuthberston, Matt Haufe, Terry McCelland, Jeff Drimmie, Don Arnott, Rick Eades, Andrew McFadden, Joe Sherman, Miles Tyson, Shawn Murray, Andrew Massey, the 66 and the 21.

The event started off in a big way with Ledson taking Cole McFadden and Adam Cuthberston three-wide entering turn one. It wouldn’t go for Ledson, though, as he’d loop it around in turn two for the first caution.

The second attempt to start the race went cleanly with Adam Cuthberston leading ahead of Riberdy, as Cole McFadden and Haufe ran side-by-side for third. Haufe got the spot on Lap 3 ahead of McFadden, with Wes Cuthberston rounding out the top-five. McCelland ran sixth ahead of Drimmie, Ledson and Tyson.

Haufe continued his climb forward, getting alongside Riberdy for second at Lap 6, completing the pass a lap later. McFadden tried to follow him through, but was unable to as he fell back in line in fourth. Meanwhile, Ledson worked his way back into the top-five at Lap 8 ahead of McCelland and Wes Cuthberston, as Tyson and Drimmie went side-by-side for eighth. Tyson got the spot on Lap 10 ahead of Drimmie, with Andrew McFadden rounding out the top-10.

Things got interesting for the final spot inside the top-10 as Murray got alongside Andrew McFadden on Lap 12, completing the pass a lap later with Arnott 12th. The caution then flew for second time, though, as Cole McFadden spun in turn two after contact with Cole McFadden. With 13 laps complete, Adam Cuthberston led  Haufe, Riberdy, McCelland,  Tyson,  Wes Cuthberston,  Drimmie,  Murray,  Sherman, Arnott and Eades.

Matt Haufe got a good restart to take the spot away from Adam Cuthberston, as Riberdy ran third ahead of Tyson and McCelland. Behind them, Ledson and Drimmie ran side-by-side for fifth at Lap 16, with Ledson taking the spot a lap later and bringing Cole McFadden through with him. Drimmie now ran seventh ahead of Wes Cuthberston, Murray and Eades. Andrew McFadden ran  11th ahead of Massey and Arnott.

Cole McFadden was then able to pass Ledson for fifth at Lap 22, with the caution flying a lap later due to Sherman getting loose off turn four in front of the leads.

Matt Haufe got a good restart to take the victory ahead of Adam Cuthberston, Miles Tyson, Jamie Riberdy, and Cole McFadden. Terry McCelland finished sixth,  followed by Wes Cuthberston,  Jeff Drimmie, Andrew McFadden and Don Arnott. Rick Eades finished 11th, followed by Andrew Massey, Joe Sherman, Cole Ledson, the 21 and the 66.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.