Race Reports

Taylor Holdaway Edges Gord Shepherd for Late Model Victory

The fans didn’t have to wait long at Sunset Speedway for an exciting finish, as Taylor Holdaway edged Gord Shepherd by 0.021 seconds to score the victory on the opening night of Sauble Falls Tent and Trailer Park Late Model action.

Following the first feature of the night won by Shepherd, it’d be Billy Zardo starting pole ahead of Chris Morrow, Joshua Stade, Jordan Latimer, Nick Goetz, Danny Benedict, Mike Wilkinson, Taylor Holdaway, Rick Spencer-Walt, Lane Zardo, Travis Hallyburton, Gord Shepherd, Ernie Fumerton, Ron Quesnelle, Kendra Adams, Brittney Gresel, Mike Meyer, Paul Maltese, Mike Bentley and Thayne Hallyburton.

Off the drop of the green flag, Chris Morrow put the No. 11 MORROW ELECTRIC, CRS CONTRACTOR RENTAL SUPPLY, PLUMBTECH PLUMBING, HALL’S SERVICE CENTRE, SN DIESEL Late Model out front, as Billy Zardo and Latimer ran side-by-side for second. Latimer looked to have the spot on Lap 3, with Zardo diving deep into turn three to remain underneath him. The move didn’t work as he spun around, with Nick Goetz making contact with him. As the field checked up, contact was made between Shepherd, Travis Hallyburton and Gresel, resulting in a busted radiator for Hallyburton and a bent car for Gresel.

Morrow got a good restart to keep the lead as Stade got alongside Latimer for second ahead of Holdaway, Goetz, and Lane Zardo. A little further back, contact happened between Shepherd and Spencer-Walt in turn two, resulting in the hood coming loose on Spencer-Walt and the second caution.

Morrow got another good restart ahead of Latimer and Holdaway. Holdaway was then able to get alongside Latimer for second on Lap 8, completing the pass a lap later. Behind them, Stade and Lane Zardo ran side-by-side for fourth, with Stade getting the spot on Lap 13.

As Shepherd got alongside Zardo for fifth, the caution flew for Wilkinson going around in turn two. With 21 laps to go, Morrow led Holdaway, Latimer, Stade, Zardo, Shepherd, Goetz, Quesnelle, Bentley, Maltese, Billy Zardo, Thayne Hallyburton and Spencer-Walt.

The restart saw a battle for the lead between Morrow and Holdaway, with Lane Zardo taking his machine down pit road with mechanical problems. The pair ran side-by-side for first for five laps, before Holdaway was able to put the No. 41 KartSTART by Toyota, Image Factor Media, Holdaway Automotive, Yamaha Motor of Canada, Wix Filters, Castrol Canada, Sunshine Super Wash, Mechanix Wear Canada, Clayton Johns Media and Stefko Racing Engines Late Model out front.

Chris Morrow now ran second ahead of Shepherd, Stade, Latimer, Quesnelle, Bentley, Goetz, Billy Zardo and Maltese. As Goetz was set to make a move on Bentley for seventh, he’d get sideways, resulting in Zardo tagging him and Goetz going around on Lap 24 for the fourth caution.

Holdaway got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of Morrow, Shepherd, Latimer and Quesnelle as Stade ran side-by-side with Zardo for sixth. Shepherd then got alongside Morrow for second on Lap 27, with the pair remaining side-by-side till the caution flew with three to go for Spencer-Walt spinning in turn two virtue of Maltese. With two laps to go, Holdaway led Shepherd, Morrow, Latimer, Zardo, Quesnelle, Stade, Hallyburton and Bentley.

The restart saw a great match-up between Holdaway and Shepherd, with Taylor Holdaway edging Gord Shepherd by 0.21 seconds at the line for the victory. Jordan Latimer finished third, followed by Chris Morrow, Billy Zardo, Ron Quesnelle and Josh Stade.

Photo Courtesy of Cale Thompson/Thompson Photography

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.