Can-Am Midgets

Rob Neely Scores Victory in Lucas Oil T.Q. Can-Am Midget Feature at Sunset Speedway

As part of the Velocity 250 at Sunset Speedway, the Lucas Oil T.Q. Can-Am Midgets ran a pair of features with Rob Neely winning the first event.

When the race started, it’d be Jeff Blackburn taking the early lead on Lap 1 ahead of Neely and James Marche as Mack DeMan and Barry Dunn ran side-by-side for third. Dunn got the spot on Lap 5, with Dryden getting alongside DeMan for fourth.

The caution then flew a lap later for Ryan Fraser spinning in turn two. With six laps on the board, Blackburn led Neely, DeMan, Dunn, Dyden, Marche, Darren McLennan, Adrian Stahle, Adam Racine, Todd Cresswell and Fraser.

Rob Neely got a good restart to take the lead ahead of Blackburn as Dunn ran third ahead of DeMan and McLennan while Dryden and Stahle ran side-by-side for sixth. Dryden got the spot, getting alongside McLennan for fifth at Lap 9 ahead of Stahle, Steve Murdock and Marche.

Things got close on Lap 11 with DeMan and McLennan making contact as Murdock slowed with a problem, eventually pulling off. In the process of the contact, Dryden got by both DeMan and McLennan, then passing Dunn to move into third.

DeMan now ran fourth, with Stahle getting alongside him on Lap 13. Stahle got the spot two laps later ahead of DeMan, while Dunn and McLennan ran side-by-side for sixth. McLennan got the spot on Lap 16 ahead of Dunn as Fraser ran eighth ahead of Racine and Marche’s battle. Unfortunately, things didn’t go Marche’s way as he’d spin with seven laps to go, bringing out the caution.

Neely got a good restart to keep the lead as Dryden slipped into second ahead of DeMan. Blackburn took the third spot back a lap later, with McLennan following him through for fourth. DeMan now ran fifth with 4 laps to go ahead of Stahle as Dunn and Fraser ran side-by-side for seventh. Fraser got the spot a lap later ahead of Dunn, Racine and Cresswell.

Rob Neely led the rest of the way en route to picking up the win ahead of Darren Dryden, Jeff Blackburn, Darren McLennan, Mack DeMan, Adrian Stahle, Ryan Fraser, Barry Dunn, Adam Racine, Todd Cresswell, James Marche and Steve Murdock.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.