Outlaw Midgets

Adam Carrothers Goes Back-to-Back at Sunset Speedway

Grabbing the lead on a mid-race restart, Adam Carrothers cruised away for his second straight Outlaw Midget feature victory at Sunset Speedway.

Jody Bound won the first heat ahead of Carrothers, Mike Bradley, Richard Woodland, Ryan Brown, Lorne Van Dusen, Dave Bradley, Monty Farrell, Steve Lassman, and Kevin Spiez. The heat wasn’t without incident, as Lassman spun off of turn four on the last lap.

Wayne McKibbon scored the victory in the second qualifier ahead of Julia Capirchio, Tyler Segan, Rick Splawnyk, Josh Inglis, Dave Inglis, Mikey Homewood, and Eric Wagner.

The third heat did not start off well, as McLean broke his chain, causing him to dramatically slow, resulting in contact between Spiez, Dave Bradley, and Bound. Adam Carrothers picked up the win ahead of Bound, Richard Woodland, Lorne Van Dusen, Ryan Brown, Mike Bradley, and Monty Farrell.

Rick Splawnyk won the final heat ahead of McKibbon, Segan, Capirchio, Josh Inglis, Homewood, Wagner, and Larry Lawson.

Come feature time, Jody Bound grabbed the early lead ahead of Mike Bradley, Rick Splawnyk, Adam Carrothers and Lorne Van Dusen, as Richard Woodland battled Monty Farrell for sixth. Carrothers continued to move forward, passing Splawnyk for third on Lap 3, with Van Dusen continuing to run fifth now ahead of Woodland, Brown, and McKibbon.

Both Woodland and Brown would get by Van Dusen to bump him back to seventh on Lap 5, ahead of Robin McLean, McKibbon, and Tyler Segan. At the front of the field, Mike Bradley would grab the top spot on Lap 8, with Carrothers moving into second a lap later ahead of Bound, Splawnyk, and Brown.

Brown, Woodland, and McLean would then make their way by Splawnyk to bump him back to seventh just before the first caution came out at Lap 12 for Capirchio spinning in turn two. With 13 laps to go, Bradley led Carrothers, Bound, Brown, Woodland, McLean, Splawnyk, McKibbon, Van Dusen, Segan, Farrell, and Josh Inglis.

The first attempt at a restart produced the second caution with Woodland, Bradley and Farrell all going around. This would allow Carrothers to inherit the lead ahead of Brown, McLean, McKibbon, Van Dusen, and Segan.

Carrothers got a good restart to keep the lead ahead of McLean and Brown, with Woodland back up to fourth by Lap 13 ahead of McKibbon, Van Dusen, and Dave Inglis. Josh Inglis ran eighth ahead of Segan, Larry Lawson, Farrell, and Splawnyk. Farrell would then get alongside Lawson for 10th on Lap 16, completing the pass a lap later, bringing Splawnyk through with him.

The race would go the rest of the way without a final caution, as Dave Inglis and Tyler Segan went around off of turn four with five laps to go.

Adam Carrothers got a good restart, leading the rest of the way ahead of Robin McLean, Richard Woodland, Ryan Brown, and Wayne McKibbon. Lorne Van Dusen finished sixth, followed by Josh Inglis, Monty Farrell, Tyler Segan, and Rick Splawnyk. Dave Inglis finished 11th, followed by Larry Lawson, Jody Bound, Eric Wagner, Mike Bradley, Julia Capirchio, Doug Segan, and Mikey Homewood.

2 replies »

  1. Great write up Ashley One small correction is was Dave Bradley in the 15 car that hit the front wall not Mike Bradley # 53


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.